Clarice Bean, Guess Who's Babysitting

3.92 avg rating
( 226 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780763647971: Clarice Bean, Guess Who's Babysitting
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Now in paperback. Lauren Child’s spunky character returns and—as if things could get any livelier in Clarice Bean’s household—Uncle Ted is babysitting! (Ages 6-10)

Who can Mom and Dad get to babysit the feisty Clarice, her pesky brother Minal Cricket, and the school’s guinea pig, Albert, who’s visiting for spring break? (Not to mention teenage brother Kurt, who abhors daylight; big sis Marcie, who chats on the phone all day; and Grandad, who tends to wander off.) Only Uncle Ted, firefighter and movie addict, can be persuaded. Will he survive the week?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

When, for some strange reason, Clarice Bean's parents can't find anyone to babysit for a few days, they must resort to Uncle Ted, a firefighter ("so he wears special pants") who occasionally lassoes lamps and "can get you in a firefighter's carry before you can say 'Uncle Ted put me down!'" All goes well for a day or two, as Clarice Bean's daylight-despising older brother, phone-chatting big sister, accident-prone younger brother, and wandering Grandad, manage to say things like "please and thank you and sorry... and let people share their stuff without grumbling." But then her little brother Minal Cricket lets Albert (the school guinea pig on spring break) out of his hutch, and the fragile family balancing act topples. In no time, Minal is on his way to the emergency room, after an accidental bop on the head with a soccer ball, Grandad has wandered into the neighbor's house to watch the horse races, and the entire fire department shows up in time for Clarice Bean's mom's return.

It's no wonder Clarice Bean and her cool uncle get along "like a house on fire (ha ha)." Quirky and feisty, these two have a way with calamity that readers won't soon forget. Nor will they forget Lauren Child's unusual and tremendously appealing cut-paper and photographic collages. Her text wends its way around the illustrations, spiraling if need be, and growing or shrinking as appropriate. Fans of Lauren Child's Clarice Bean, That's Me will do backflips of joy to see a new title about this precocious girl and her very nutty family. (Ages 6 to 10) --Emilie Coulter

About the Author:

Lauren Child attended art school and did "lots of other things" before writing CLARICE BEAN, THAT'S ME. She designed ceramics for children, worked as an artist's assistant, and created lampshades for her own company. About the inspiration for this book—her first for Candlewick Press—she says, "I grew up with an older sister who read a lot and a younger sister who I had to share a room with whenever we had visitors (which was a lot, and my sister was very untidy, and guess who had to clean up the mess.)"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780763613730: Clarice Bean, Guess Who's Babysitting?

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0763613738 ISBN 13:  9780763613730
Publisher: Candlewick, 2001
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Child, Lauren/ Child, Lauren (ILT)
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VQ-9780763647971

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

CHILD, LAUREN
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0763647977

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Lauren Child
Published by Candlewick Press,U.S., United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick Press,U.S., United States, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Lauren Child (illustrator). Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Now in paperback. Lauren Child s spunky character returns and--as if things could get any livelier in Clarice Bean s household--Uncle Ted is babysitting! Who can Mom and Dad get to babysit the feisty Clarice, her pesky brother Minal Cricket, and the school s guinea pig, Albert, who s visiting for spring break? (Not to mention teenage brother Kurt, who abhors daylight; big sis Marcie, who chats on the phone all day; and Grandad, who tends to wander off.) Only Uncle Ted, firefighter and movie addict, can be persuaded. Will he survive the week?. Seller Inventory # AAS9780763647971

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Lauren Child
Published by Candlewick Press,U.S., United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick Press,U.S., United States, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Lauren Child (illustrator). Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Now in paperback. Lauren Child s spunky character returns and--as if things could get any livelier in Clarice Bean s household--Uncle Ted is babysitting! Who can Mom and Dad get to babysit the feisty Clarice, her pesky brother Minal Cricket, and the school s guinea pig, Albert, who s visiting for spring break? (Not to mention teenage brother Kurt, who abhors daylight; big sis Marcie, who chats on the phone all day; and Grandad, who tends to wander off.) Only Uncle Ted, firefighter and movie addict, can be persuaded. Will he survive the week?. Seller Inventory # BTE9780763647971

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Lauren Child
Published by Candlewick Press,U.S., United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick Press,U.S., United States, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Lauren Child (illustrator). Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Now in paperback. Lauren Child s spunky character returns and--as if things could get any livelier in Clarice Bean s household--Uncle Ted is babysitting! Who can Mom and Dad get to babysit the feisty Clarice, her pesky brother Minal Cricket, and the school s guinea pig, Albert, who s visiting for spring break? (Not to mention teenage brother Kurt, who abhors daylight; big sis Marcie, who chats on the phone all day; and Grandad, who tends to wander off.) Only Uncle Ted, firefighter and movie addict, can be persuaded. Will he survive the week?. Seller Inventory # AAS9780763647971

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Lauren Child, Lauren Child (Illustrator)
Published by Candlewick (2010)
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Seller Inventory # DADAX0763647977

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Lauren Child, Lauren Child (illustrator)
Published by Candlewick Press 2010-05-11, Somerville (2010)
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick Press 2010-05-11, Somerville, 2010. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780763647971

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Child, Lauren/ Child, Lauren (Illustrator)
Published by Candlewick Pr (2010)
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick Pr, 2010. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 32 pages. 10.75x9.75x0.25 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # z-0763647977

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Lauren Child
Published by Candlewick (2010)
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick, 2010. Condition: New. Lauren Child (illustrator). book. Seller Inventory # M0763647977

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Child , Lauren
Published by 0-7636 Candlewick Press
ISBN 10: 0763647977 ISBN 13: 9780763647971
New Encuadernación de tapa blanda Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Eurobook Libreria de Idiomas
(Valladolid, Spain)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 0-7636 Candlewick Press. Encuadernación de tapa blanda. Condition: Nuevo. 03/05/13. Seller Inventory # 464265

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 23.45
From Spain to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book