Jocelyn Green The Mark of the King

ISBN 13: 9780764219061

The Mark of the King

4.35 avg rating
( 749 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780764219061: The Mark of the King

Sweeping Historical Fiction Set at the Edge of the Continent

After being imprisoned and branded for the death of her client, twenty-five-year-old midwife Julianne Chevalier trades her life sentence for exile to the fledgling 1720s French colony of Louisiana, where she hopes to be reunited with her brother, serving there as a soldier. To make the journey, though, women must be married, and Julianne is forced to wed a fellow convict.

When they arrive in New Orleans, there is no news of Benjamin, Julianne's brother, and searching for answers proves dangerous. What is behind the mystery, and does military officer Marc-Paul Girard know more than he is letting on?

With her dreams of a new life shattered, Julianne must find her way in this dangerous, rugged land, despite never being able to escape the king's mark on her shoulder that brands her a criminal beyond redemption.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"Lovers of historical fiction will be transported by this beautifully written novel of the early 18th-century frontier."--Lori Benton, award-winning author of The Wood's Edge and A Flight of Arrows

Life in This New World Requires More Strength Than She Ever Imagined

After the death of her client, midwife Julianne Chevalier is imprisoned and branded, marking her as a criminal beyond redemption. Hoping to reunite with her brother, a soldier, she trades her life sentence for exile to the fledgling French colony of Louisiana. The price of her transport, however, is a forced marriage to a fellow convict.

New Orleans is nothing like Julianne expects. The settlement is steeped in mud and mosquitoes, and there is no news of her brother, Benjamin. When tragedy strikes, she turns to military officer Marc-Paul Girard for help, but does he know more about her brother than he will admit?

With her dreams shattered, Julianne must find her way in this dangerous land, where only grace--and love--can overcome the stigma of the king's mark upon her shoulder.

"The 18th-century Old and New Worlds burst off the pages in the latest historical fiction treasure from Green. . . . Readers can only hope for more from this talented, spiritually insightful author."--Publishers Weekly starred review

"Readers will be swept away by the themes of faith and redemption woven throughout the narrative as well as the alluring protagonists and setting. Fans of Beth White's Gulf Coast Chronicles, Lynn Austin, and Susan Meissner will enjoy."--Library Journal

"This novel of judgment and redemption tells a gripping tale where God's grace prevails."--Christian Market

"Exquisitely penned, this look at colonial Louisiana is enhanced by Green's attention to detail, creating memorable characters and vivid scenes. . . . Rich with history and redemption, Green's latest is ideal for fans of Lynn Austin or Laura Frantz."--RT Book Reviews

"This book provides a perfect mixture of action, suspense, and non-sappy romance."--World Magazine

About the Author:

Jocelyn Green inspires faith and courage as the award-winning author of numerous fiction and nonfiction books, including Wedded to War, a Christy Award finalist in 2013, and The 5 Love Languages Military Edition, which she coauthored with bestselling author Dr. Gary Chapman. Jocelyn lives with her husband and two children in Iowa. Visit her at www.jocelyngreen.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Green, Jocelyn
Published by Bethany House Publishers 1/3/2017 (2017)
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bethany House Publishers 1/3/2017, 2017. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. The Mark of the King. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780764219061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jocelyn Green
Published by Baker Publishing Group, United States (2017)
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Baker Publishing Group, United States, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Sweeping Historical Fiction Set at the Edge of the Continent After being imprisoned and branded for the death of her client, twenty-five-year-old midwife Julianne Chevalier trades her life sentence for exile to the fledgling 1720s French colony of Louisiana, where she hopes to be reunited with her brother, serving there as a soldier. To make the journey, though, women must be married, and Julianne is forced to wed a fellow convict. When they arrive in New Orleans, there is no news of Benjamin, Julianne s brother, and searching for answers proves dangerous. What is behind the mystery, and does military officer Marc-Paul Girard know more than he is letting on? With her dreams of a new life shattered, Julianne must find her way in this dangerous, rugged land, despite never being able to escape the king s mark on her shoulder that brands her a criminal beyond redemption. Bookseller Inventory # AA79780764219061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jocelyn Green
Published by Baker Publishing Group, United States (2017)
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Baker Publishing Group, United States, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Sweeping Historical Fiction Set at the Edge of the Continent After being imprisoned and branded for the death of her client, twenty-five-year-old midwife Julianne Chevalier trades her life sentence for exile to the fledgling 1720s French colony of Louisiana, where she hopes to be reunited with her brother, serving there as a soldier. To make the journey, though, women must be married, and Julianne is forced to wed a fellow convict. When they arrive in New Orleans, there is no news of Benjamin, Julianne s brother, and searching for answers proves dangerous. What is behind the mystery, and does military officer Marc-Paul Girard know more than he is letting on? With her dreams of a new life shattered, Julianne must find her way in this dangerous, rugged land, despite never being able to escape the king s mark on her shoulder that brands her a criminal beyond redemption. Bookseller Inventory # AA79780764219061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Green, Jocelyn
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2017. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KS-9780764219061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Green, Jocelyn
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2017. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780764219061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Green, Jocelyn
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. After being unjustly imprisoned for the death of her client, midwife Julianne Chevalier trades her life sentence for exile to the French colony of Louisiana in 1720. She marries a fellow convict in order to sail, but when tragedy strikes--and a mystery unfolds--Julianne must find her own way in this dangerous new land while bearing the brand of a criminal. Bookseller Inventory # 5641899

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Green, Jocelyn
Published by Bethany House Publishers (2017)
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bethany House Publishers, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0764219065

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Green, Jocelyn
Published by Bethany House Publishers
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bethany House Publishers. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0764219065. Bookseller Inventory # Z0764219065ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Green, Jocelyn
Published by Bethany House Publishers (2017)
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Baker Book House
(Ada, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bethany House Publishers, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New. No Remainder Mark. Bookseller Inventory # bpg9780764219061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jocelyn Green
ISBN 10: 0764219065 ISBN 13: 9780764219061
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. pp. 400. Bookseller Inventory # 372192230

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book