Bruce DeSilva Rogue Island (Liam Mulligan)

ISBN 13: 9780765327260

Rogue Island (Liam Mulligan)

3.63 avg rating
( 1,621 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780765327260: Rogue Island (Liam Mulligan)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Liam Mulligan is as old school as a newspaper man gets. His beat is Providence, Rhode Island, and he knows every street and alley. He knows the priests and prostitutes, the cops and street thugs. He knows the mobsters and politicians--who are pretty much one and the same. Someone is systematically burning down the neighborhood Mulligan grew up in, people he knows and loves are perishing in the flames, and the public is on the verge of panic. With the police looking for answers in all the wrong places, and with the whole city of Providence on his back, Mulligan must find the hand that strikes the match.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

What the world's greatest crime-fiction writers are saying about Rogue Island:

"A tense, teriffic thriller," Dennis Lehane

"Rogue Island is a blast!" -- Michael Connelly

"A stunning debut in the noir tradition." -- Harlan Coben

""I could have written a whole essay on how much I loved Rogue Island." -- Ken Bruen

"Not since Dennis Lehane's A Drink Before the War have I read a first novel as sure-handed." -- James W. Hall

"Fans of Michael Connelly and Robert B. Parker, rejoice!: -- Peter Blauner

"Rogue Island is a stunning debut." -- Alafair Burke

"I haven't been this impressed since I discovered some guy named Robert B. Parker." -- Ace Atkins

"Bruce DeSilva accomplishes something remarkable. He takes everything we love about the classic hard-boiled detective novel and turns it into a story that's fresh, contemporary, yet timeless." -- Joseph Finder

"Witty as it is intelligent, smoothly written and wryly told, a gem." -- Thomas H. Cook

"DeSilva writes with a master's understanding of the genre." -- Marcus Sakey

"Bruce DeSilva knows exactly how thrillers work, and he pulls out all the stops in this impressive debut." -- Sean Chercover

"A welcome new rogue voice in American fiction." -- Tim Dorsey

"When it comes to fresh noir-on-wry, readers could not ask for more." -- Otto Penzler

"Rogue Island" is just my kind of book: beautifully written, to the point, very nasty, and with a hell of a twist -- Sara Gran

What some other knowledgable book-lovers are saying:

"I love to discover a new author who handles his plot, characters and location with such skill." -- Doug Robinson, co-owner of the Eagle Eye Book Shop, Decatur, GA

"Rogue Island is the funniest and best-written suspense novel I've read in years. . . . Don't be fooled, though, by the non-stop drama, horror, and black humor of DeSilva's first novel. For all its merits as a thriller, Rogue Island is a highly serious work of fiction combining a fascinating and authentic evocation of a 21st-century American city with a lyrical tribute to the dying newspaper business." -- Howard Frank Mosher, critically acclaimed author of Walking to Gatlinburg and Waiting for Teddy Williams.
 

From the Inside Flap:

Liam Mulligan is as old school as a newspaper man gets. His beat is Providence, Rhode Island, and he knows every street and alley. He knows the priests and the prostitutes, the cops and the street thugs. He knows the mobsters and the politicians -- who are pretty much one and the same. Times are changing fast. Corruption runs amok, and what a reporter has to do in the name of competition is becoming laughable. But when Mulligan realizes that someone is systematically burning down his childhood neighborhood, he ignores his bosses and his budding relationship to figure out the firebug's identify. People he knows and loves are perishing in the flames, and the public is on the verge of panic. With the whole city of Providence on his back, Mulligan must weed through a wildly colorful array of characters to find the truth.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 24.99
US$ 4.99

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

DeSilva, Bruce
Published by Forge Books 2010-01-01 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0765327260 ISBN 13: 9780765327260
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 18
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Forge Books 2010-01-01, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9780765327260B

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bruce DeSilva
Published by Forge Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 0765327260 ISBN 13: 9780765327260
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Forge Books, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0765327260

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 20.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

DeSilva, Bruce
Published by Tom Doherty Associates, Forge, New York (2010)
ISBN 10: 0765327260 ISBN 13: 9780765327260
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Owlsnest Books
(Ooltewah, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tom Doherty Associates, Forge, New York, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: Very Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Fine. First Edition - First Printing. First edition, first printing, with a full number line starting with a 1. A very fine and unread copy in a fine dust jacket now in a clear removable protective cover. Author's acclaimed first book, a crime novel set in Rhode Island, a novel setting. Edgar Award and Macavity Award winner for Best First Novel. DeSilva's second novel, "Cliff Walk" was also published to great acclaim. SIGNED by Bruce DeSilva on the title page and dated 10/29/10, the month of publication. Not inscribed, price clipped or otherwise marked. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # 010518

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 36.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

DeSilva, Bruce
Published by Forge Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 0765327260 ISBN 13: 9780765327260
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Forge Books, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110765327260

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 41.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds