Jon Land Blood Diamonds (Ben and Danielle)

ISBN 13: 9780765361127

Blood Diamonds (Ben and Danielle)

3.8 avg rating
( 129 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780765361127: Blood Diamonds (Ben and Danielle)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The West African country of Sierra Leone has long been known as a diamond-rich area. With civil war ripping the heart out of the country, all aspects of life there are unstable. Worst of all, guerrilla rebels, in their lust for the resource-rich land, have sunk to depravity and terrorism to evict people from the country.

It's into this maelstrom of political and emotional turmoil that Ben and Danielle must go. The leader of the rebels, a fanatical and charismatic woman known only as the Dragon, is not content with ravaging her own country. She plans a final coup that will perfect her power and topple Western governments--unless Ben and Danielle can stop her in time.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Critical Acclaim for Keepers of the Gate by John Land

"Land stands head and shoulders above his competition."-The Boston Book Review

"A strongly plotted, impressively solid new entry."-Kirkus Reviews

"This is a big, complex mystery propelled by a genuinely compelling plot and its likable lead characters. We enjoy watching these smart, efficient detectives sort out what's what and we enjoy watching the author have fun with his bigger-than-life plot, carefully calculating how far he can go without turning his story into a cartoon . . . . A lively and well-told yarn, sure to please fans of high-concept thrillers."-Booklist

"A labyrinthine tale of conspiracy and deception . . . . Land is adept at gauging the unique effects the Mideastern culture and history will have on the emotions and motivations of his protagonists."-Publishers Weekly

"Land's pacing is masterful, giving the reader a sense that he is watching an action movie. And he depicts the very real Israeli-Palestinian conflicts with clarity and poignancy . . . . Another spectacular, fast-paced, suspense-filled thriller from Land, one that will keep you up at night turning the pages. Keepers is a keeper."-The Providence Sunday Journal

"Few writers capture the conflict and turmoil of the Middle East like thriller author Jon Land. Land has done it again in Keepers of the Gate, a novel of suspense about the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, murders, Nazi hunters, Holocaust survivors and biotech research . . . . Land captures the complex and tumultuous nature of the Arab-Israeli conflict without making sweeping indictments on either side . . . . Land gives the reader a little more in Keepers of the Gate, an engaging thriller with a more personal touch than his previous works."-The Charleston Post and Courier

"International intrigue and double feints are par for the course in this thrilling tale. Be advised, when you think you've figured it out, Land has more surprises in store . . . . A white-knuckled read. Land has packed eight days of action into this tersely written, well-plotted work which races towards its surprising conclusion."-BookSense

"Keepers of the Gate will keep you turning pages until the Gatekeepers are finally uncovered at the risk of Ben, Danielle, and their child's life. Land is one of a few authors who seem to have beaten the mid-story slump that plagues many writers in the mystery/adventure genre. The action stops only long enough for the reader to catch a breath, and the plot twists faster than a mid-summer tornado."-The Cape Coral Daily Breeze

"Whoever thinks that elements of a suspenseful murder mystery, a dramatic love story, and an insightful political thriller can't be intertwined into a novel has yet to read Jon Land's latest page-turner, Keepers of the Gate . . . . The dynamics of this novel excel to an extraordinary level. Mr. Land knows how to make you keep the pages turning, and he uses suspense to its utmost degree."-The East Bay Window

"A brilliantly conceived, ingenious tour-de-force. The best book yet from a writer at the absolute top of his game."-Bookviews

"Keepers of the Gate is even tighter than its predecessors with more twists than a Six Flags roller coaster and immensely more enjoyable. It was far more exciting than the latest from Ludlum, Clancy, or any of the other writers in this genre. This book stands out in a sea of mediocre offerings and is definitely this spring's must read."-The Jewish Herald

"Land is coming into his own with the Ben Kamal series, reflecting a maturity of craft most authors struggle to convince us they have and fail. With Keepers of the Gate, Land hits his stride . . . . He's given us genre that manages to capture the elusive human factor."-The Boston Book Review on Keepers of the Gate

"Jon Land writes exciting and believable political thrillers in the tradition of Clancy and Cornwall . . . . The theme of Keepers of the Gate is universal, yet heart-wrenching so that readers will understand the motives of the key players, whose flaws make them so human. Mr. Land is a great storyteller who enriches his audience with every novel he writes."-The Midwest Book Review

About the Author:

Jon Land is the acclaimed author of many bestsellers, including The Last Prophecy, Blood Diamonds, The Walls of Jericho, The Pillars of Solomon, A Walk in the Darkness, Keepers of the Gate, and The Blue Widows. He lives in Providence, Rhode Island.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780765302267: Blood Diamonds (Ben Kamal and Danielle Barnea Novels)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0765302268 ISBN 13:  9780765302267
Publisher: Forge Books, 2002
Hardcover

9780765341488: Blood Diamonds (Ben and Danielle)

Forge ..., 2003
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jon Land
Published by Forge Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0765361124 ISBN 13: 9780765361127
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Forge Books, 2008. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0765361124

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Land, Jon
Published by Forge Books
ISBN 10: 0765361124 ISBN 13: 9780765361127
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mesilla Internet
(Mesilla, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Forge Books. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0765361124 New. Seller Inventory # Z0765361124ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 51.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.48
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Jon Land
Published by Forge Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0765361124 ISBN 13: 9780765361127
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Forge Books, 2008. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0765361124

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 121.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Jon Land
Published by Forge Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0765361124 ISBN 13: 9780765361127
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Forge Books, 2008. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0765361124n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 207.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds