Items related to Gob's Grief: A Novel

Adrian, Chris Gob's Grief: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780767902816

Gob's Grief: A Novel

3.73 avg rating
( 593 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780767902816: Gob's Grief: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
The literary debut of an electrifying talent that gives the historical novel an exhilarating dose of originality, style, and visionary energy.

Gob's Grief recounts the lives of Gob and Tomo Woodhull, fictional twin sons of the real Victoria Woodhull, the nineteenth-century proto-feminist. In August of 1863, Tomo, who is eleven years old, runs off to the Civil War and dies in his first battle. Gob grows up in a profound state of grief, and by the time that he's an adult studying to be a doctor in New York City, he has begun to make real a dream to build a machine that might bring Tomo—indeed, all the war dead—back to life.

As Gob's obsessions deepen, we are taken from the battlefields at Chickamauga Creek to the society balls of New York, from innocent childhoods in Homer, Ohio, to the building of the Brooklyn Bridge; and as the machine grows, so does the amazing cast of real and imagined characters: Walt Whitman, ministering lovingly to the Civil War wounded; Mrs. Woodhull and her sister Tennessee, doing business on Wall Street and riding churning tides of scandal; Gob's friend Will Fie, a war veteran who builds a house from glass images of suffering and death; Maci Trufant, Victoria Woodhull's protégé and Gob's great love; and even unnatural Pickie Beecher, a child who seems to float sinisterly between the living and the dead. These disparate lives come together in support of Gob's endeavor, but the abolition of death and the success of his machine may come at a price more hideous and awful than any of them can know.

Both convincing in its portrayal of the collective madness America went through after the carnage of the Civil War, and otherworldly in its contemplation of obsessive grief and longing, Gob's Grief is at once an announcement of a major talent, and an extraordinary achievement in literary art.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
Unlike many a novelist, Chris Adrian isn't intimidated by history. Indeed, he treats historical events as raw material, to be reshaped and reconfigured through the processes of the imagination. It's an endeavor that would please Walt Whitman, one of the central characters in this challenging debut, Gob's Grief. Nor is the good gray poet the only "real" character--both Abraham Lincoln and radical feminist Victoria Woodhull put in appearances, giving an extra twist of verisimilitude to Adrian's rendering of America circa 1863, where the Civil War rages and the dead proliferate like weeds.

Gob's Grief opens with the story of Tomo, the fictional son of Woodhull. At age 11, he dreams of escaping Homer, Ohio, to join the fighting. Unable to convince his twin brother, Gob, to accompany him, Tomo finally sets out alone and is promptly killed by a bullet through the skull. His twin never recovers from this loss. In thrall to his grief, Gob grows up to become a doctor, dedicating himself to healing the war's wounded. And by night, he toils away at a more unlikely corrective: a time machine that will eradicate death and bring back all the lost soldiers. His sidekick in this project is none other than Whitman, who shares his desire to resurrect those millions of departed souls: "Their marvelous passion would go out from them in waves, transforming time, history, and destiny, unmurdering Lincoln, unfighting the war, unkilling all the six hundred thousand."

Gob's Grief is an ambitious and occasionally convoluted story, which remains true to the stubborn mysticism of thinkers like Whitman and Woodhull. Cutting back and forth between characters and historical moments, Adrian never pretends to retrospective detachment. Indeed, his novel will appeal to fans of John Dos Passos or E.L. Doctorow--writers who borrow from history but repay their debt in the form of fictional insight. --Ellen Williams

From the Back Cover:
“Impressive.... So much more ambitious and profound than most contemporary American fiction.” –The Washington Post

“A masterpiece of retrospective mythology.... Adrian hasn’t just reimagined or reenacted this time of national crisis; he’s managed to relive it through his characters.”–Walter Kirn, GQ

“Remarkable.... Utterly different. A work unlike any that has come before it.”–The Economist

“Unlike many first time novelists, Adrian takes great risks here. He brings to life scores of historical figures, from Walt Whitman to Abe Lincoln, with a startling ease and grace. More remarkable, however, is his ability to inspire sympathy for–even faith in–Gob’s mission.” –Time Out New York

“Remarkable . . . utterly different. A work unlike any that has come before it.” –The Economist

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780375726248: Gob's Grief: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0375726241 ISBN 13: 9780375726248
Publisher: Vintage, 2002
Softcover

9781847085825: Gob'S Grief

Granta...
Softcover

9781847085818: Gob'S Grief

Granta...
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Chris Adrian
Published by Broadway (2001)
ISBN 10: 0767902815 ISBN 13: 9780767902816
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0767902815

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Adrian, Chris
Published by Broadway (2001)
ISBN 10: 0767902815 ISBN 13: 9780767902816
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity: 1
Seller:
Garys Books
(Apache Junction, AZ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Signed by Author(s) 0767902815 First printing. First edition. Signed by the author on the title page. Seller Inventory # ABE-7010194956

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Adrian, Chris
Published by Broadway Books, New York (2000)
ISBN 10: 0767902815 ISBN 13: 9780767902816
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Sly Fox
(Virden, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition, First Printing. Nice, unsold, unread first edition, first printing of this debut novel featuring thelives of fictional twin sons of Victoria Woodhull set in the Civil War era. Seller Inventory # 001437

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Adrian, Chris
Published by Broadway (2001)
ISBN 10: 0767902815 ISBN 13: 9780767902816
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0767902815-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Adrian, Chris
Published by Broadway (2001)
ISBN 10: 0767902815 ISBN 13: 9780767902816
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0767902815

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Adrian, Chris
Published by Broadway (2001)
ISBN 10: 0767902815 ISBN 13: 9780767902816
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Spot
(Sioux Falls, SD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # Abebooks187964

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Adrian, Chris
Published by Broadway (2001)
ISBN 10: 0767902815 ISBN 13: 9780767902816
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(LOS ANGELES, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. In shrink wrap. Looks like an interesting title!. Seller Inventory # Q-0767902815

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 61.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.55
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chris Adrian
Published by Pantheon (2001)
ISBN 10: 0767902815 ISBN 13: 9780767902816
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity: 1
Seller:
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. New York: Pantheon, 2001. First edition, first printing. Hardbound. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. New in dust jacket. A perfect unread copy of the author's first novel. An impressive debut. 0.0. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # 7833

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 75.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds