Lost Souls

ISBN 13: 9780780634152

Lost Souls

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780780634152: Lost Souls

Lost Souls is certainly one of the most gorgeous-looking movies to come out in 2000. The cinematography has a striking, visual texture reminiscent of old photographs, all the color bleeding out into rich and evocative shades of grey and black. The movie doesn't quite live up to its look, though it's not without its pleasures. The broader outlines of its story--about a true-crime writer (Ben Chaplin) who discovers, through the efforts of a former victim of possession (Winona Ryder), that he's about to become the Antichrist--lack any surprises or ingenuity. But individual scenes are largely well-written, spookily directed, and acted with commitment and intensity. Chaplin is particularly good, Ryder does her best, and a crew of superb character actors (including John Hurt, Elias Koteas, and Philip Baker Hall) flesh out the skeletally scripted supporting characters with skill and intelligence. Some of the special effects go a little overboard, but the movie is surprisingly free of the cheesy, demonic posturing and portentous speeches that afflict too many religious thrillers. Fans of "The Exorcist" or "The Omen" may find "Lost Souls" to be a modest but flavorful variation on the "devil-is-coming-to-get-you" genre. "--Bret Fetzer"

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used View Book
List Price: US$ 9.98
US$ 2.50

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

ISBN 10: 0780634152 ISBN 13: 9780780634152
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Movies
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DVD. Book Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Bookseller Inventory # S_187173247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds