Susan Wiggs Passing Through Paradise

ISBN 13: 9780786242887

Passing Through Paradise

3.98 avg rating
( 1,417 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780786242887: Passing Through Paradise
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

It's been two years since the mysterious accident took Sandra Winslow's politician husband, Victor-the favorite son of a town called Paradise-and left Sandra under a cloud of suspicion. She decides to sell her beach house on the edge of town and hires Mike Malloy, who touches her lonely heart. Can she trust a man with unbreakable ties to a community she's eager to leave behind-and who is determined to unearth her deepest secrets?
Wiggs's characterizations are strong; even minor characters...jump off the page with a winning blend of realism and warmth. A richly textured story that successfully moves beyond the conventions of the romance genre, this book will polish Wiggs's already glowing reputation --- Publishers Weekly
Once again, Wiggs proves she's a master of both historical and contemporary romance, unfolding the story in slow, delicious layers. Readers who like Jayne Ann Krentz and Nora Roberts will also enjoy this. --- Library Journal

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Susan Wiggs, a Harvard graduate and former math teacher, self-published her first novel at the age of eight, using blunt scissors, pages from a Big Chief tablet, a borrowed stapler, and a Number Two pencil. She has since become a #1 bestselling author whose work is noted for scenes of emotional truth that evoke both tears and laughter. Unable to completely abandon her beloved teaching profession, she is a frequent workshop leader and speaker at writers' conferences. She lives with her family on an island in the Pacific Northwest.

From Publishers Weekly:

One February night, the car of politician Victor Winslow and his wife, Sandra, skids off an icy bridge. Afterwards, Victor is missing and presumed dead, and his wife is widely suspected of his murder despite the official conclusion that the crash was an accident. Finding that her hometown ironically named Paradise is a haven no longer, a dazed and shocked Sandra decides to renovate and sell her old beach house in order to finance a move. Mike Malloy, the contractor she hires, is an expert on historic restoration and a single dad struggling to rebuild his life after a punishing divorce. Sandra and Mike move warily toward love and healing as the house is painstakingly restored. In the process, Mike pushes Sandra toward clues that might explain Victor's fate and clear her name forever. Wiggs's characterizations are strong, particularly the portrait she paints of Mike, who is at once a fantasy romantic hero and a convincing modern man; even minor characters such as Sandra's warring parents and Mike's confused kids jump off the page with a winning blend of realism and warmth. A richly textured story that successfully moves beyond the conventions of the romance genre, this book will polish Wiggs's already glowing reputation. Agent, Meg Ruley.

Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781455567348: Passing Through Paradise

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1455567345 ISBN 13:  9781455567348
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, 2016
Softcover

9781538761700: Passing Through Paradise

Grand ..., 2018
Softcover

9780739422120: Passing Through Paradise (Large Print Edition)

Warner..., 2002
Hardcover

9780446584913: Passing Through Paradise

Grand ..., 2011
Softcover

9780446508810: Passing Through Paradise

Grand ..., 2008
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Susan Wiggs
Published by Thorndike Press (2002)
ISBN 10: 0786242884 ISBN 13: 9780786242887
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thorndike Press, 2002. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0786242884

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 77.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Susan Wiggs
ISBN 10: 0786242884 ISBN 13: 9780786242887
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Looks like an interesting title!. Seller Inventory # E-0786242884

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 95.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Susan Wiggs
Published by Thorndike Pr (2002)
ISBN 10: 0786242884 ISBN 13: 9780786242887
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thorndike Pr, 2002. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0786242884

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 110.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Susan Wiggs
ISBN 10: 0786242884 ISBN 13: 9780786242887
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Looks like an interesting title!. Seller Inventory # S-0786242884

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 158.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds