Colfer, Eoin The Legend of Spud Murphy

ISBN 13: 9780786849116

The Legend of Spud Murphy

3.88 avg rating
( 1,328 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780786849116: The Legend of Spud Murphy
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When their mother starts dropping them off at the library several afternoons a week, nine-year-old William and his brother dread boredom and the overbearing librarian, but they are surprised at how things turn out.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Eoin Colfer (pronounced "Owen") (born May 14, 1965) is an Irish author. Eoin Colfer grew up in Wexford, Ireland, along with his four brothers, Paul, Eamon, Donal, and Niall. He first developed a passion for writing in primary school, reading viking books inspired by his history lessons at the time. His father was a primary school teacher, as well as an artist and historian. His mother is a drama teacher. In 1986, Colfer became a Primary School teacher, but continued to write in his free time.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 2-4–This hilarious offering is the first in a new chapter-book series. When their parents become fed up with their boisterous behavior during summer vacation, Will and Marty Woodman are forced to do something educational: "Reading. It's perfect. How can you get into trouble reading a book?" The brothers will spend time at the library, despite their worries about the librarian, Mrs. "Spud" Murphy, who is feared by all children. According to the rumors, she uses a gas-powered gun to shoot potatoes at kids who make too much noise. When Mom drops them off later that afternoon, Mrs. Murphy leads them to the children's section and warns them that they are not to venture off of the carpet. Readers will immediately pick up that Marty has a problem following the rules and trouble ensues when he steps off the rug to cause some mischief. However, he has met his match in Spud, who silently appears on the scene like a "ninja librarian." The cartoon illustrations enhance the funny mood of the story. Youngsters, especially reluctant readers, will laugh out loud at this clever book, which can also be read aloud. A good choice for fans of Dav Pilkey, Jon Scieszka, and Ian Whybrow.–Christine McGinty, Albany Public Library, NY
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780786855049: Eoin Colfer's Legend Of. Spud Murphy

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0786855045 ISBN 13: 9780786855049
Publisher: Miramax, 2005
Softcover

9780141317083: The Legend of Spud Murphy. Eoin Colfer (Young Puffin Story Books)

Puffin..., 2005
Softcover

9780786855018: The Legend of Spud Murphy (Eoin Colfer's Legend Of...)

Mirama..., 2004
Hardcover

9780756965143: Eoin Colfer's Legend of Spud Murphy

Perfec..., 2005
Hardcover

9780141380162: The Legend of Spud Murphy

Gardne..., 2004
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Colfer, Eoin
ISBN 10: 0786849118 ISBN 13: 9780786849116
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0786849118

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 86.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Eoin Colfer
Published by Disney-Hyperion (2005)
ISBN 10: 0786849118 ISBN 13: 9780786849116
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Disney-Hyperion, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0786849118

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 96.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds