The Tender Bar: A Memoir

3.93 avg rating
( 25,488 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780786888764: The Tender Bar: A Memoir

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.

At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Long before it legally served me, the bar saved me," asserts J.R. Moehringer, and his compelling memoir The Tender Bar is the story of how and why. A Pulitzer-Prize winning writer for the Los Angeles Times, Moehringer grew up fatherless in pub-heavy Manhasset, New York, in a ramshackle house crammed with cousins and ruled by an eccentric, unkind grandfather. Desperate for a paternal figure, he turns first to his father, a DJ whom he can only access via the radio (Moehringer calls him The Voice and pictures him as "talking smoke"). When The Voice suddenly disappears from the airwaves, Moehringer turns to his hairless Uncle Charlie, and subsequently, Uncle Charlie's place of employment--a bar called Dickens that soon takes center stage. While Moehringer may occasionally resort to an overwrought metaphor (the footsteps of his family sound like "storm troopers on stilts"), his writing moves at a quick clip and his tale of a dysfunctional but tightly knit community is warmly told. "While I fear that we're drawn to what abandons us, and to what seems most likely to abandon us, in the end I believe we're defined by what embraces us," Moehringer says, and his story makes us believe it. --Brangien Davis

About the Author:

J.R. Moehringer, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2000, is a staff writer for the Los Angeles Times Sunday Magazine, and a former Nieman Fellow at Harvard University. He lives in Denver.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Moehringer, J. R.
Published by Hyperion Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Trade paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
MVE Inc
(Hickory, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hyperion Books, 2006. Trade paperback. Book Condition: New. Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 416 p. Audience: General/trade. Bookseller Inventory # Alibris_0004169

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

J. R. Moehringer
Published by Hachette Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Carolina Books
(Spartanburg, SC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Books, 2006. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar. J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-1509142062449

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

J. R. Moehringer
Published by Hachette Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Books, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # 170717227

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Moehringer, J.R.
Published by Hyperion Books 2006-08-01 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hyperion Books 2006-08-01, 2006. Softcover. Book Condition: New. Softcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780786888764B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Moehringer, J.R.
Published by Hachette Book Group
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Book Group. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0786888768

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

J. R. Moehringer
Published by Hachette Books
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Campustexxts
(Vicksburg, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Books. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New. We take pride in our customer service, please contact us if you have any questions regarding the listing. Bookseller Inventory # 0786888768

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Moehringer, J. R.
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2006. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KB-9780786888764

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Moehringer, J. R.
Published by Hyperion Books 8/1/2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hyperion Books 8/1/2006, 2006. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. The Tender Bar: A Memoir. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780786888764

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

J. R. Moehringer
Published by Hachette Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Books, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0786888768

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Moehringer, J. R.
ISBN 10: 0786888768 ISBN 13: 9780786888764
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. The bestselling memoir that captured the hearts of readers and critics nationwide is now available in paperbackIn the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, J.R. Moehringer's The Tender Bar is a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar. A national bestseller that was named one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005 by the New York Times, The Tender Bar will reach an even larger audience in paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 5405379

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book