The Public Side of Representation: A Study of Citizens' Views about Representatives and the Representative Process

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780791471708: The Public Side of Representation: A Study of Citizens' Views about Representatives and the Representative Process
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Examines how ordinary citizens view the representative process in Congress.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Representation lies at the very heart of our political system, yet few attempts have been made to examine citizens' views about the representative process. The Public Side of Representation fills that void. Through a series of in-depth interviews, Christopher J. Grill explores people's abstract beliefs about representation, expectations for members of Congress, views on the representative-constituent relationship, and conceptions of Congress as an institution. The resulting analysis describes what the participants view as the essential building blocks of the representative process, depicts how they think representatives should make voting decisions, explains what they believe are the most important roles for members of Congress, and appraises their understanding of the actual representative process. Highly readable and accessible, The Public Side of Representation provides greater insight into American politics, citizens' expectations about government, and the roots of public discontent with the contemporary political process.

"Representation is full of dilemmas. Using carefully structured and meticulously reported in-depth interviews, Christopher Grill shows that most citizens see those dilemmas clearly and are prone to resist simplistic solutions. In the tradition of Lane and Gamson, he shows that we can learn a great deal by letting ordinary people speak to difficult issues in their own words. The book is important both as a demonstration of the value of in-depth interviewing and for its contribution to our understanding of Americans' attitudes toward political institutions." -- Paul J. Quirk, coauthor of Deliberative Choices: Debating Public Policy in Congress

"This insightful book reveals, as no other has, how strongly many constituents feel about communication--especially two-way communication--and political courage in their representatives. Constituents may also be more willing to be told unpalatable truths and may understand better the difficulties of representatives balancing the competing demands on their time than we have thought. An invaluable door has been opened to further research and institutional invention." -- Jane Mansbridge, coeditor of Oppositional Consciousness: The Subjective Roots of Social Protest

About the Author:

Christopher J. Grill is an independent research consultant living in Rensselaer, New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780791471692: The Public Side of Representation: A Study of Citizens' Views About Representatives and the Representative Process

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0791471691 ISBN 13:  9780791471692
Publisher: State Univ of New York Pr, 2007
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Christopher J. Grill
Published by State University of New York Press (2008)
ISBN 10: 0791471705 ISBN 13: 9780791471708
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description State University of New York Press, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0791471705

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 31.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Christopher J. Grill
Published by SUNY Press (2008)
ISBN 10: 0791471705 ISBN 13: 9780791471708
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description SUNY Press, 2008. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0791471705

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 33.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Grill, Christopher J.
Published by State Univ of New York Pr (2008)
ISBN 10: 0791471705 ISBN 13: 9780791471708
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description State Univ of New York Pr, 2008. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. illustrated edition. 210 pages. 8.75x5.75x0.50 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk0791471705

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 51.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Christopher J. Grill
Published by State University of New York Press (2008)
ISBN 10: 0791471705 ISBN 13: 9780791471708
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description State University of New York Press, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0791471705n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 108.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds