Allen W. Wood Kant's Rational Theology

ISBN 13: 9780801475535

Kant's Rational Theology

3.25 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780801475535: Kant's Rational Theology
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In Kant's Rational Theology, Allen W. Wood explores Kant's views on the concept of God and on the attempt to demonstrate God's existence. "We cannot have a full or balanced understanding of Kant's thought on religious subjects," he writes, "as long as we fail to take account of his reflections, often exceedingly abstract, obscure, and subtle, concerning the rational origin, content, and status of our concept of a supreme being."

The importance of this aspect of Kantian thought, according to Wood, lies in its originality, in its historical influence, and in the insights it affords into the tradition of rational theology in medieval and modern philosophy. He believes that it also provides a means of understanding Kant's work as a whole and of achieving a proper appreciation of the contents of Kant's moral faith.

The author focuses on Kant's chapter on the ideal or pure reason from the Critique of Pure Reason and also discusses other Kantian writings (especially the Lectures on Philosophical Theology, the Critique of Judgment, and several of Kant's precritical essays) where the topic of rational theology is prominent. A concise recapitulation and critical assessment of Kant's more speculative theses, this book is a complement to Wood's earlier book, Kant's Moral Religion.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"This splendid little book has two main sections. The first traces the origins of Kant's account of God, the ens realissimum, in the first Critique, and analyzes the very obscure introductory passage which precedes Kant's criticism of the three proofs of God's existence. The second examine that criticism in detail. Wood's prose is simple and concise, and he perfectly combines sound historical exegesis with discussion of the general philosophical issues involved."--Mind

"Wood's scholarship possesses both historical insight (helping him to situate Kant in the tradition of Descartes, Leibniz, and Wolff) and analytic subtlety (enriching his discussion of such issues as modality and predication). The result is a book that is both an original contribution to Kant studies and an inquiry into the possibility of theology as a 'rational' enterprise."--Journal of the American Academy of Religion

About the Author:

Allen W. Wood is Professor of Philosophy at Indiana University. His many books include, as author, Kant's Moral Religion (also from Cornell), Hegel's Ethical Thought, Kant's Ethical Thought, and Kantian Ethics; and, as coeditor and cotranslator (with Gertrude M. Clarke), Immanuel Kant's Lectures on Philosophical Theology, available from Cornell.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 26.95
US$ 21.91

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780801412004: Kant's Rational Theology

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0801412005 ISBN 13:  9780801412004
Publisher: Cornell Univ Pr, 1978
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Allen W. Wood
Published by Cornell University Press, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornell University Press, United States, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. In Kant's Rational Theology, Allen W. Wood explores Kant's views on the concept of God and on the attempt to demonstrate God's existence. "We cannot have a full or balanced understanding of Kant's thought on religious subjects," he writes, "as long as we fail to take account of his reflections, often exceedingly abstract, obscure, and subtle, concerning the rational origin, content, and status of our concept of a supreme being."The importance of this aspect of Kantian thought, according to Wood, lies in its originality, in its historical influence, and in the insights it affords into the tradition of rational theology in medieval and modern philosophy. He believes that it also provides a means of understanding Kant's work as a whole and of achieving a proper appreciation of the contents of Kant's moral faith.The author focuses on Kant's chapter on the ideal or pure reason from the Critique of Pure Reason and also discusses other Kantian writings (especially the Lectures on Philosophical Theology, the Critique of Judgment, and several of Kant's precritical essays) where the topic of rational theology is prominent. A concise recapitulation and critical assessment of Kant's more speculative theses, this book is a complement to Wood's earlier book, Kant's Moral Religion. Seller Inventory # AAJ9780801475535

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Wood, Allen W.
Published by Cornell University Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Reuseabook
(Gloucester, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornell University Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in Brand New condition. Seller Inventory # CHL2441775

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.45
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Allen W. Wood
Published by University of Nebraska Press
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Nebraska Press. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0801475538

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Allen W. Wood
Published by Cornell University Press, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornell University Press, United States, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In Kant s Rational Theology, Allen W. Wood explores Kant s views on the concept of God and on the attempt to demonstrate God s existence. We cannot have a full or balanced understanding of Kant s thought on religious subjects, he writes, as long as we fail to take account of his reflections, often exceedingly abstract, obscure, and subtle, concerning the rational origin, content, and status of our concept of a supreme being. The importance of this aspect of Kantian thought, according to Wood, lies in its originality, in its historical influence, and in the insights it affords into the tradition of rational theology in medieval and modern philosophy. He believes that it also provides a means of understanding Kant s work as a whole and of achieving a proper appreciation of the contents of Kant s moral faith.The author focuses on Kant s chapter on the ideal or pure reason from the Critique of Pure Reason and also discusses other Kantian writings (especially the Lectures on Philosophical Theology, the Critique of Judgment, and several of Kant s precritical essays) where the topic of rational theology is prominent. A concise recapitulation and critical assessment of Kant s more speculative theses, this book is a complement to Wood s earlier book, Kant s Moral Religion. Seller Inventory # AAJ9780801475535

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Wood, Allen
Published by Cornell University Press
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornell University Press. Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover - This title is now printed on demand - please allow added time for shipment! A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Seller Inventory # 2801918

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Allen W. Wood
Published by Cornell University Press
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornell University Press. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780801475535

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.14
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Allen W. Wood
Published by Cornell University Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornell University Press, 2009. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780801475535

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 25.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Wood, Allen W.
Published by Cornell University Press 5/28/2009 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornell University Press 5/28/2009, 2009. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Kant's Rational Theology. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780801475535

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Wood Allen W.
Published by Cornell University Press
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornell University Press. Condition: New. pp. 160. Seller Inventory # 7968378

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 25.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Allen W. Wood
Published by Cornell University Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0801475538 ISBN 13: 9780801475535
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornell University Press, 2009. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # CA-9780801475535

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book