Will Self Cock and Bull

ISBN 13: 9780802141378

Cock and Bull

3.44 avg rating
( 1,678 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780802141378: Cock and Bull
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"Cock: A Novelette" is the story of a woman who grows a fully functional penis. "Bull: A Farce" is the story of a man who acquires a vagina and all its companion parts. There are, however, complications. Cock & Bull, the book that introduced an enfant terrible of English letters to an American audience, has quickly become a classic of blistering satire.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

As the song goes, "Girls will be boys and boys will be girls." "Cock: A Novelette" is the story of a woman who grows a fully functional penis. "Bull: A Farce" is the story of a man who acquires a vagina and all its companion parts.

There are, however, complications.

Cock & Bull is plain evidence that Will Self is an enfant terrible of English letters in the tradition of Martin Amis and Julian Barnes.

From Kirkus Reviews:

Two eerily fascinating, original novellas, delving into a nightmarish world of sexual ambiguity and moral ambivalence, from British writer Self. Cock (``A Novelette'') and Bull (``A Farce'') offer complementary views of the dark possibilities that emerge when sexual differences are miraculously overcome. The former story concerns Carol, a miserable housewife who married the man responsible for her first orgasm only to have him turn into a cringing, boorish drunk. Finding a release from her desperation in masturbation, she discovers that she's also growing a penis, but eventually her disgust turns to admiration, and with a new-found assertiveness she's able to liberate herself from her husband in a final, grimly satisfying way. The narrator of Carol's tale, an unctuous Oxford don who trapped an unwilling listener in a train compartment, moves from words to action to reach a vicious climax of his own, brutalizing his fellow traveller before going his way. Bull poses another Kafkaesque turn, as a beefy sportswriter-turned- cabaret-critic awakens one morning to find that a vagina has formed between his calf and knee. Thinking it a wound, he seeks medical treatment, but his doctor, believed by all (and himself) to be a saint, becomes obsessed with it and quickly seduces his patient. After a few nights of unimaginable coupling, his moral scruples reappear and the two part company, but the hapless victim has conceived and flees to San Francisco to bear his shame alone. Savagely satirical and visceral, with all the tawdry glories of modern British life exposed: as chilling as it is outrageous. Definitely not for the squeamish. (First printing of 22,500) -- Copyright ©1993, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Will Self
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0802141374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Self, Will
Published by Grove Press (2005)
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 0802141374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Self, Will
Published by Grove Press
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802141374. Seller Inventory # Z0802141374ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Will Self
Published by Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Full of surrealism, satire, and sexual ambiguity, this pairing of two novelettes traces the adventures of a woman who grows a penis and a man who ends up with a vagina and other female parts. Reprint. Seller Inventory # AAC9780802141378

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Will Self
Published by ATLANTIC MONTHLY PRESS, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ATLANTIC MONTHLY PRESS, United States, 2005. Trade Paperback. Condition: New. TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. Fiction and Poetry>Literature>A to Z. Book: NEW, New. Bookseller Inventory # 01978080214137800. Seller Inventory # 01978080214137800

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Will Self
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Cock: A Novelette is the story of a woman who grows a fully functional penis. Bull: A Farce is the story of a man who acquires a vagina and all its companion parts. There are, however, com.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 320 pages. 0.354. Seller Inventory # 9780802141378

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Self, Will
Published by Grove Press
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802141374. Seller Inventory # Z0802141374ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Will Self
Published by Grove/Atlantic Inc (2005)
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove/Atlantic Inc, 2005. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # TV9780802141378

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.71
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Will Self
Published by Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Full of surrealism, satire, and sexual ambiguity, this pairing of two novelettes traces the adventures of a woman who grows a penis and a man who ends up with a vagina and other female parts. Reprint. Seller Inventory # BTE9780802141378

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Will Self
Published by Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0802141374 ISBN 13: 9780802141378
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Full of surrealism, satire, and sexual ambiguity, this pairing of two novelettes traces the adventures of a woman who grows a penis and a man who ends up with a vagina and other female parts. Reprint. Seller Inventory # AAC9780802141378

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book