The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up?

3.11 avg rating
( 73 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780802170286: The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up?
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Glasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips’s second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind that would never be more than promise.
Washed up as a real” writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo. The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips’s rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom. Phillips builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. It is a remarkable book; a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

"This is the best book I've read about being in your twenties and trying to figure out what to do with your life, and that's not just because I'm in it. Something this funny shouldn't also be this profound; after laughing, crying, and cheering the cast, all I wanted was a bigger part." --Matt Stone, cocreator of South Park

"The Royal Nonesuch is very funny, far too real for comfort, and even, finally, life-affirming. To borrow a phrase from Mr. Phillips, reading this book is like getting kicked in the clams with a clown shoe. You double over, not sure whether you're laughing or crying, and then you want to kick the clown back, in the clams. That course of action won't be available to all readers, but I have Mr. Phillips's address, and I'm on my way now to the clown shoe store." --Dave Eggers, author of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius and You Shall Know Our Velocity

"Glasgow Phillips has harnessed vast observational and comedic talents for the purpose of waste, waste, and thrice waste--till now! The Royal Nonesuch is both a self-reckoning and a generational one, and Phillips fills this ridiculous, entertaining, crazy-ass morality tale with proof that he's a fancy pants literary type after all. Hooray!" --Sean Wilsey, author of Oh the Glory of It All

"[Glasgow Phillips is] a very good writer who has written, in The Royal Nonesuch, a very good book. Funny (at times laugh-out-loud funny), smart, self-mocking, very much of the moment... Maybe, if we get lucky, he'll keep writing on books. The pay is lousy, but they last." --Jonathan Yardley, The Washington Post

"Hollywood drops the soap and Glasgow Phillips scores a bull's-eye in this hilarious and frighteningly accurate memoir about coming-of-age on the gamy side of Tinseltown." --Mark Haskell Smith, award winning screenwriter and author of Moist, Delicious, and Salty

"This is the book you're looking for. It's inspiring, intelligent, funny, honest, and a triumph over evil. I usually can't get past page 10 in a memoir, but The Royal Nonesuch had me from the start and never let me down. Glasgow Phillips is the real deal, a badass who actually knows how to write." --Arthur Bradford, author of Dogwalker

"Glasgow Phillips is an idea man. Think about all the things you've liked over the past decade--movies, weird dot-coms, animated TV shows, pills--he's been behind them all. This guy has chops." --Starlee Kine, NPR's This American Life

Review:

"This is the best book I've read about being in your twenties and trying to figure out what to do with your life, and that's not just because I'm in it. Something this funny shouldn't also be this profound; after laughing, crying, and cheering the cast, all I wanted was a bigger part." -- Matt Stone

"This is the book you're looking for. It's inspiring, intelligent, funny, honest, and a triumph over evil. I usually can't get past page 10 in a memoir, but The Royal Nonesuch had me from the start and never let me down. Glasgow Phillips is the real deal, a badass who actually knows how to write." -- Arthur Bradford

"The Royal Nonesuch is very funny, far too real for comfort, and even, finally, life-affirming. To borrow a phrase from Mr. Phillips, reading this book is like getting kicked in the clams with a clown shoe. You double over, not sure whether you're laughing or crying, and then you want to kick the clown back, in the clams. That course of action won't be available to all readers, but I have Mr. Phillips's address, and I'm on my way now to the clown she store." -- Dave Eggers

"Hollywood drops the soap and Glasgow Phillips scores a bull's-eye in this hilarious and frighteningly accurate memoir about coming-of-age on the gamy side of Tinseltown." -- Mark Haskell

"The Royal Nonesuch hits so close to home that laughing at Mr. Phillips and laughing at yourself are often one and the same. Occasionally gut-wrenching, often hysterical, and always illuminating, Mr. Phillips's prose remains remarkably assured throughout. Even when his life choices are, well, not." -- Neel Shah

"Glasgow Phillips has harnessed vast observational and comedic talents for the purpose of waste, waste, and thrice waste--till now! The Royal Nonesuch is both a self-reckoning and a generational one, and Phillips fills this ridiculous, entertaining, crazy-ass morality tale with proof that he's a fancy pants literary type after all. Hooray!" -- Sean Wilsey

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Phillips, Glasgow
Published by Grove Press, Black Cat (2007)
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Academybookshop
(Long Island City, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, Black Cat, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. New - excellent, clean condition ***. Seller Inventory # C-01444

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Phillips, Glasgow
Published by Grove Press, Black Cat
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Newsboy Books
(Ontario, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, Black Cat. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802170285 New. Seller Inventory # 0802170285NOE

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Phillips, Glasgow
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2007. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780802170286

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Phillips, Glasgow
Published by Grove Press, Black Cat
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, Black Cat. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802170285. Seller Inventory # Z0802170285ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Phillips, Glasgow
Published by Grove Press, Black Cat
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, Black Cat. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802170285. Seller Inventory # Z0802170285ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Phillips, Glasgow
Published by Grove Press, Black Cat
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, Black Cat. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802170285. Seller Inventory # Z0802170285ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Phillips, Glasgow
Published by Grove Press, Black Cat
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, Black Cat. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802170285. Seller Inventory # Z0802170285ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Phillips, Glasgow
Published by Grove Press, Black Cat
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, Black Cat. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802170285. Seller Inventory # Z0802170285ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Phillips, Glasgow
Published by Grove Press, Black Cat
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, Black Cat. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802170285. Seller Inventory # Z0802170285ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Phillips, Glasgow
Published by Grove Press, Black Cat
ISBN 10: 0802170285 ISBN 13: 9780802170286
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press, Black Cat. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802170285. Seller Inventory # Z0802170285ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book