Abigail Iris: The Pet Project

3.65 avg rating
( 23 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780802786579: Abigail Iris: The Pet Project

Abigail Iris has a half-birthday coming up, and she knows it's the perfect excuse to ask for the adorable kitten up for adoption at her local farmer's market. After all, everyone else in her life seems to be getting something new: her Only friend Rebecca has a new baby brother on the way, and her brother Eddie has a new girlfriend named Molly. But Abigail finds that once the kitten is hers, he brings with him lots of new responsibilities and life lessons, too. Full of new beginnings, last good byes, and fresh starts, Abigail Iris: The Pet Project has just as much joy and heart as the first adventure.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Lisa Glatt is the author of Abigail Iris: The One and Only, as well as the short story collection The Apple's Bruise and the novel A Girl Becomes a Comma Like That. She teaches at California State University, Long Beach and is married to writer David Hernandez. www.lisaglatt.com/

Suzanne Greenberg is the author of Abigail Iris: The One and Only, as well as Speed-Walk and Other Stories, Winner of the Drue Heinz Prize for Literature, 2003. She currently teaches creative writing at California State University. She lives in Long Beach, California, with her husband and their three children.

Joy Allen has illustrated over 30 books for children, including the popular American Girl Hopscotch Hill School series and Abigail Iris: The One and Only. Her art has appeared on the cover of Publishers Weekly, in the L.A. Times, and on the Today Show. She lives in Cameron Park, California. www.joyallenillustration.com

From School Library Journal:

Grade 2–4—Eight-year-old Abigail Iris's three best friends are only children, "Onlies." She thinks they're lucky for many reasons, but especially fortunate because their parents let them celebrate their half birthdays. With her half birthday just days away, she convinces her parents to let her mark the event by getting her a kitten. Unfortunately, her older sister is allergic to it. Abigail Iris has spunk and insight, and she employs them with a plan to solve this dilemma. Also, her friend Rebecca will be losing her status when her mother has a baby, leaving Abigail Iris with much to ponder regarding the advantages and disadvantages of having siblings. A companion book to Abigail Iris: The One and Only (Walker, 2009), the story is told from the child's point of view. Fast-paced conversation, coupled with realistic events, creates a fun read while full-page black-and-white illustrations add interest. Fans of Ramona, Clementine, and Junie B. will embrace this feisty girl.—Helen Foster James, University of California at San Diego
(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Glatt, Lisa; Greenberg, Suzanne
Published by Walker Childrens
ISBN 10: 080278657X ISBN 13: 9780802786579
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Walker Childrens. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 080278657X . Bookseller Inventory # GRW5796MGAC071216H0177P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Glatt, Lisa, Greenberg, Suzanne
Published by Walker Childrens (2010)
ISBN 10: 080278657X ISBN 13: 9780802786579
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Walker Childrens, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P11080278657X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 45.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds