I Told Me So: Self-Deception and the Christian Life

4.06 avg rating
( 183 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780802864116: I Told Me So: Self-Deception and the Christian Life
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Think you’ve ever deceived yourself? Then this book is for you.

Think you’ve never deceived yourself? Then this book is really for you.
 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Gregg A. Ten Elshof is professor of philosophy at Biola University, La Mirada, California. His book I Told Me So: Self-Deception and the Christian Life won the Christianity Today 2009 Book Award in the Christian Living category.

Review:

James K. A. Smith
 — Calvin College
“Socrates famously asserted that the unexamined life is not worth living. But Gregg Ten Elshof shows us that we make all sorts of little deals with ourselves every day in order to stave off examination and remain happily self-deceived. Most provocatively, he suggests this is not all bad! While naming its temptations, Ten Elshof also offers a ‘strange celebration’ of self-deception as a gracious gift. In the tradition of Dallas Willard, I Told Me So is a wonderful example of philosophy serving spiritual discipline. A marvelous, accessible and, above all, wise book.” /

David Naugle
— Dallas Baptist University
“In this wise, well-crafted work Ten Elshof helps us to identify, evaluate, and respond to our own self-deceptive strategies, as he probes — with occasional self-deprecation and unavoidable humor — the bottomless mysteries of the human heart. His reflections on interpersonal self-deception and ‘groupthink’ are especially helpful. To tell me the truth, I’m glad I read this book. You will be too — I promise.”

Dallas Willard (from the foreword)
“Ten Elshof’s discussions are erudite, biblical, searching, and laced with soul-restoring wisdom. All of this together means that this book is solidly pastoral. What it brings to us is appropriate to individuals, but it especially belongs in the context of small groups and local congregations.”

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 16.00
US$ 12.60

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gregg A. Ten Elshof
Published by William B Eerdmans Publishing Co, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William B Eerdmans Publishing Co, United States, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Think you ve ever deceived yourself? Then this book is for you. Think you ve never deceived yourself? Then this book is really for you. Seller Inventory # AAJ9780802864116

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ten Elshof, Gregg A.
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # KS-9780802864116

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gregg A. Ten Elshof
Published by William B Eerdmans Publishing Co, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William B Eerdmans Publishing Co, United States, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Think you ve ever deceived yourself? Then this book is for you. Think you ve never deceived yourself? Then this book is really for you. Seller Inventory # AAJ9780802864116

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gregg A. Ten Elshof
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Omega Books and More Inc.
(Springdale, AR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. FAST shipping, FREE tracking, and GREAT customer service! We also offer International and EXPEDITED shipping options. Seller Inventory # 3D7DSF001UNH

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Elshof, Gregg A. Ten
Published by Eerdmans
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Eerdmans. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0802864112 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # SWATI2122665635

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gregg A. Ten Elshof
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Seller Inventory # 97808028641160000000

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Gregg A. Ten Elshof
Published by William B Eerdmans Publishing Co
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William B Eerdmans Publishing Co. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780802864116

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Gregg A. Ten Elshof
Published by Eerdmans (2009)
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Eerdmans, 2009. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0802864112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Gregg A. Ten Elshof
Published by William B Eerdman Co (2009)
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description William B Eerdman Co, 2009. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # TH9780802864116

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gregg A. Ten Elshof
Published by Eerdmans Publishing Co.
ISBN 10: 0802864112 ISBN 13: 9780802864116
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Eerdmans Publishing Co. Paperback. Condition: New. 160 pages. Dimensions: 8.1in. x 5.4in. x 0.5in.Think youve ever deceived yourself Then this book is for you. Think youve never deceived yourself Then this book is really for you. Socrates famously asserted that the unexamined life is not worth living. But Gregg Ten Elshof shows us that we make all sorts of little deals with ourselves every day in order to stave off examination and remain happily self-deceived. Most provocatively, he suggests this is not all bad! While naming its temptations, Ten Elshof also offers a strange celebration of self-deception as a gracious gift. In the tradition of Dallas Willard, I Told Me So is a wonderful example of philosophy serving spiritual discipline. A marvelous, accessible and, above all, wise book. James K. A. Smith Calvin College author of The Devil Reads Derrida In this wise, well-crafted work Ten Elshof helps us to identify, evaluate, and respond to our own self-deceptive strategies, as he probes with occasional self-deprecation and unavoidable humor the bottomless mysteries of the human heart. His reflections on interpersonal self-deception and groupthink are especially helpful. To tell me the truth, Im glad I read this book. You will be too I promise. David Naugle Dallas Baptist University author of Reordered Love, Reordered Lives Ten Elshofs discussions are erudite, biblical, searching, and laced with soul-restoring wisdom. All of this together means that this book is solidly pastoral. What it brings to us is appropriate to individuals, but it especially belongs in the context of small groups and local congregations. Dallas Willard (from the foreword) This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9780802864116

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book