Annette LeBox Circle of Cranes

ISBN 13: 9780803734432

Circle of Cranes

3.82 avg rating
( 84 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780803734432: Circle of Cranes
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A lyrical fantasy blending fairy tale elements with contemporary issues

Thirteen-year-old Suyin is a poor orphan who has a strange gift with languages and a mysterious connection to the cranes in her small Chinese village. When a shady human trafficker arrives promising luxury and riches beyond belief in America, the villagers elect Suyin - whom they consider lucky - to go as their benefactress. But instead of luxury, Suyin is forced to work in a sweatshop in New York City's Chinatown. Suyin's future seems hopeless, until her beloved cranes arrive and reveal that she is no ordinary girl - instead, she is the daughter of the Crane Queen. Now her mother's life is in danger, and Suyin must prove herself worthy of her position as the Crane Princess, in order to save her mother and the entire clan of cranes.

For fans of Grace Lin and Laurence Yep, this is a beautiful story of the meaning of family and finding one's true path in life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Annette LeBox is an environmental activist who divides her time between Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada, and a remote cabin in the Caribou grasslands.

Review:

"The book has strong curricular value, with concise and accessible explorations of labor politics, exploitative economies, and global immigration issues; in addition, the information about heritage crafts and feminine subcultures in China is fascinating. The thread of female solidarity and friendship is a significant appeal factor, giving the book a great deal of warmth." — The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Inspired by the folktale 'The Crane Wife,' this novel engagingly melds an immigrant story with folklore and fantasy." — Booklist

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

LeBox, Annette
Published by Dial Books
ISBN 10: 0803734433 ISBN 13: 9780803734432
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ACJBooks
(Staten Island, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dial Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0803734433 This is a hardcover book with dust jacket. !!!!This is a 1st Edition!!!!!. Seller Inventory # 269.XMX36

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Annette LeBox
Published by Dial Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0803734433 ISBN 13: 9780803734432
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dial Books, 2012. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0803734433

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Annette LeBox
Published by Dial (2012)
ISBN 10: 0803734433 ISBN 13: 9780803734432
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dial, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0803734433

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

LeBox, Annette
Published by Dial Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0803734433 ISBN 13: 9780803734432
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dial Books, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110803734433

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 44.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Annette LeBox
Published by Dial Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0803734433 ISBN 13: 9780803734432
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dial Books, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0803734433n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 87.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Annette LeBox
ISBN 10: 0803734433 ISBN 13: 9780803734432
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Looks like an interesting title!. Seller Inventory # M-0803734433

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 95.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds