Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?

ISBN 13: 9780805074840

Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?

4.23 avg rating
( 29,963 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780805074840: Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

New big books to share with a group!
Big books are ideal for use with a large group―they are oversized at 14-1/2 x 18 inches. A perfect way to enjoy Holt favorites with many children at once!

A collection of endangered animals appear in Bill Martin Jr's rhythmic text with Eric Carle's vibrant images, and all are watched over by our best hope for the future―a dreaming child.



Also available in big book format:

The Colors of Us
By Karen Katz

Here are My Hands
By Bill Martin Jr and John Archambault, illustrated by Ted Rand

In the Small, Small Pond
By Denise Fleming

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Fans of Bill Martin Jr. and Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? and Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? will be delighted to see another title in this lilting call and response series. Much like their earlier picture books, Panda Bear features a string of fine feathered (and furry and scaly) friends watching over each other. In this book, however, all the animals are endangered, from a swinging spider monkey to a strutting macaroni penguin (kids will get a kick out of that name!) to a splashing sea lion. Carle’s trademark tissue paper collages will be as familiar--and welcome--as the text ("Whooping Crane, Whooping Crane, what do you see?" "I see a black panther strolling by me."); young readers will quickly get the hang of the rhythm and join right in. The book concludes on a hopeful note, with a dreaming child seeing the ten f! eatured animals "all wild and free--/ that’s what I see!" Martin includes a note on endangered species that may spark concern and interest in older readers--our hope for these disappearing creatures. (Ages 3 to 8) --Emilie Coulter

About the Author:

Bill Martin, Jr. (1916-2004) was an elementary-school principal, teacher, writer, and poet. His more than 300 books, among them the bestselling classics Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?; Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?; Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?; and Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, are a testament to his ability to speak directly to children. Martin held a doctoral degree in early childhood education. Born in Kansas, he worked as an elementary-school principal in Chicago before moving to New York City, where he worked in publishing developing innovative reading programs for schools. After several years, he devoted himself full-time to writing his children's books. He lived in New York until 1993, when he moved to Texas. He lived in the east Texas woods, near the town of Commerce, until he passed away in 2004.

Eric Carle is one of America's leading children's book illustrators. In addition to the classic children's books he created with Bill Martin, Jr., he is author and illustrator of The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780805080780: Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? Board Book

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0805080783 ISBN 13:  9780805080780
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR), 2006
Hardcover

9780805092929: Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? (My First Reader)

Henry ..., 2011
Hardcover

9780312515812: Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? (Slide and Find)

Priddy..., 2013
Hardcover

9780805081022: Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? (Brown Bear and Friends)

Henry ..., 2007
Softcover

9780805017588: Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?

Henry ..., 2003
Hardcover