No More Pumpkins (Second Grade Friends)

3.96 avg rating
( 27 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780805078398: No More Pumpkins (Second Grade Friends)

Emily is tired of pumpkins. At school she and her friend Vincetta Louise have been doing pumpkin math, pumpkin field trips, and pumpkin writing. Can't they just carve jack-o-lanterns? But even this ends up being an assignment: the kids have to make pumpkin selfportraits.

Then something happens to Emily's jack-o-lantern, and her friendship with Vinni is tested. The two girls get past their quarrel--but will they ever want to see a pumpkin again?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

PETER CATALANOTTO is the author/illustrator of many books for children. He lives with his family in Doylestown, Pennsylvania.

PAMELA SCHEMBRI is a librarian in Montgomery, New York.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 1–3—Emily is tired of studying about pumpkins. Her class has weighed and measured them, and counted seeds. Now, the children have to decorate them to look like self-portraits. The second grader is excited about her birthday party on Saturday, however, so when her friend Vinni doesn't show up, she's upset. Then in school Vinni behaves oddly, arguing, sulking, and damaging Emily's pumpkin. The last chapter deals with her apology (it turns out she wanted to go to the party and felt left out when she couldn't) and Emily's acceptance of it. The black-and-white illustrations are well done and expressive. Fans of Barbara Park's "Junie B. Jones" series and Patricia Reilly Giff's "Polk Street School" books (both Random) will enjoy this beginning chapter book.—Kelly Roth, Bartow County Public Library, Cartersville, GA
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Catalanotto, Peter, Schembri, Pamela
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) (2007)
ISBN 10: 0805078398 ISBN 13: 9780805078398
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. (BYR), 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110805078398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 53.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Catalanotto, Peter; Schembri, Pamela
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN 10: 0805078398 ISBN 13: 9780805078398
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. (BYR). Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0805078398 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.1312479

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Peter Catalanotto, Pamela Schembri
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) (2007)
ISBN 10: 0805078398 ISBN 13: 9780805078398
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. (BYR), 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0805078398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1,349.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds