Faith and Freedom: Religious Liberty in America (Critical Issue)

3.8 avg rating
( 5 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780809015757: Faith and Freedom: Religious Liberty in America (Critical Issue)

The Hill and Wang Critical Issues Series: concise, affordable works on pivotal topics in American history, society, and politics.

Faith and Freedom offers an illuminating analysis of disputes over the religion clauses in the First Amendment. Frankel examines the most dramatic of the court cases concerned with these issues in the last half century--the claimed rights of Native Americans to use peyote in religious ceremonies, the demand of Amish parents to exempt their children from laws requiring school attendance, and many more. Arguing in the tradition of Roger Williams, Frankel suggests we must accept only the bare minimum of breaches between the religious domain and the state.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Marvin E. Frankel, now in private practice, served as Assistant Solicitor General, professor of Law at Columbia University, and U.S. District Judge in the Southern District of New York. He is the author of four books, including the influential Criminal Sentences.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marvin E. Frankel
Published by MacMillan Publishers
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description MacMillan Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0809015757

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Marvin E Frankel
Published by Hill and Wang (1995)
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hill and Wang, 1995. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780809015757

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Marvin E Frankel
Published by Hill Wang, United States (1995)
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hill Wang, United States, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 203 x 137 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. The Hill and Wang Critical Issues Series: concise, affordable works on pivotal topics in American history, society, and politics. Faith and Freedom offers an illuminating analysis of disputes over the religion clauses in the First Amendment. Frankel examines the most dramatic of the court cases concerned with these issues in the last half century--the claimed rights of Native Americans to use peyote in religious ceremonies, the demand of Amish parents to exempt their children from laws requiring school attendance, and many more. Arguing in the tradition of Roger Williams, Frankel suggests we must accept only the bare minimum of breaches between the religious domain and the state. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780809015757

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Marvin E Frankel
Published by Hill Wang, United States (1995)
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hill Wang, United States, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 203 x 137 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.The Hill and Wang Critical Issues Series: concise, affordable works on pivotal topics in American history, society, and politics. Faith and Freedom offers an illuminating analysis of disputes over the religion clauses in the First Amendment. Frankel examines the most dramatic of the court cases concerned with these issues in the last half century--the claimed rights of Native Americans to use peyote in religious ceremonies, the demand of Amish parents to exempt their children from laws requiring school attendance, and many more. Arguing in the tradition of Roger Williams, Frankel suggests we must accept only the bare minimum of breaches between the religious domain and the state. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780809015757

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Marvin E. Frankel
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97808090157571.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Marvin E Frankel
Published by Farrar Straus Giroux
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus Giroux. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Faith and Freedom: Religious Liberty in America, Marvin E Frankel, The Hill and Wang Critical Issues Series: concise, affordable works on pivotal topics in American history, society, and politics. "Faith and Freedom" offers an illuminating analysis of disputes over the religion clauses in the First Amendment. Frankel examines the most dramatic of the court cases concerned with these issues in the last half century--the claimed rights of Native Americans to use peyote in religious ceremonies, the demand of Amish parents to exempt their children from laws requiring school attendance, and many more. Arguing in the tradition of Roger Williams, Frankel suggests we must accept only the bare minimum of breaches between the religious domain and the state. Bookseller Inventory # B9780809015757

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.63
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Frankel, Marvin E.
Published by Hill and Wang
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hill and Wang. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0809015757 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.5 Some items may NOT be available for International Shipping. Please contact us about a particular item. Bookseller Inventory # OTF-S-9780809015757

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Marvin E. Frankel
Published by Hill and Wang (1995)
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hill and Wang, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0809015757

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Marvin E Frankel
Published by Hill and Wang (1995)
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hill and Wang, 1995. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780809015757

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.56
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Marvin E. Frankel
Published by Farrar Straus Giroux
ISBN 10: 0809015757 ISBN 13: 9780809015757
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus Giroux. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 144 pages. Dimensions: 8.0in. x 5.4in. x 1.0in.The Hill and Wang Critical Issues Series: concise, affordable works on pivotal topics in American history, society, and politics. Faith and Freedom offers an illuminating analysis of disputes over the religion clauses in the First Amendment. Frankel examines the most dramatic of the court cases concerned with these issues in the last half century--the claimed rights of Native Americans to use peyote in religious ceremonies, the demand of Amish parents to exempt their children from laws requiring school attendance, and many more. Arguing in the tradition of Roger Williams, Frankel suggests we must accept only the bare minimum of breaches between the religious domain and the state. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780809015757

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book