How to Quiet a Vampire: A Sotie (Writings From An Unbound Europe)

4.45 avg rating
( 317 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780810117204: How to Quiet a Vampire: A Sotie (Writings From An Unbound Europe)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The disquieting novel How to Quiet a Vampire is a rumination on terror and intellect in the tradition of Joseph Heller and George Steiner. Published to acclaim in 1977, Pekic's novel of ideas follows Konrad Rutkowski, professor of medieval history and former Gestapo officer, as he returns to the scene of his war crimes determined to renounce, or perhaps justify, his Nazi past. In a series of letters, Rutkowski lays out his ambivalent reactions to war and violence, connecting his own swirling ideas to those of the major figures of European thought: Plato, St. Augustine, Descartes, Nietzsche, Freud, and others.

Delving far deeper than mere intellect, however, Borislav Pekic was himself a frequent political agitator and occasional prisoner, and he drew on his first hand knowledge of police methods and life under totalitarianism to paint a chilling portrait of a supposedly free-thinking intellectual acting in the service of repression. At the same time he questions whether Rutkowski's ideology puts him outside the philosophical tradition he so admires—or if the line separating European thought from totalitarianism is not as clear as we like to think.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

Published to acclaim in 1977, this controversial novel of ideas follows Konrad Rutkowski-professor of medieval history and former Gestapo officer-as he returns to the scene of his war crimes determined to renounce, or perhaps justify, his Nazi past. In a series of letters to a brother-in-law, Rutkowski lays out his ambivalent reactions to war and unthinkable violence, connecting his own swirling ideas to those of some of the major figures of European thought: Plato, St. Augustine, Descartes, Nietzsche, Freud, and others.
But the novel is more than an intellectual meditation. Pekiƒ was himself a frequent political agitator and occasional prisoner, and he drew on his first hand knowledge of police methods and life under totalitarianism to paint a chilling portrait of an intellectual acting as a tool of repression. At the same time he questions whether Rutkowski's ideology puts him outside the philosophical tradition he so admires-or if the line separating it from totalitarianism is not as clear as we like to think.

About the Author:

Borislav Pekic was born in 1930 in Podgorica, Yugoslavia. Arrested in 1948 for terrorism, armed rebellion, and espionage after the theft of a few typewriters and mimeographs, Pekiƒ spent five years in prison, where he began to write. He worked as a screenwriter and editor of a literary journal before publishing his first novel at age thirty-five. Constant trouble with the authorities led him to emigrate to London in the early 1970s. His novels include The Houses of Belgrade (1994) and The Time of Miracles (1994), both published by Northwestern University Press. He died of cancer in 1992 in London.
Stephen M. Dickey is an assistant professor of Slavic linguistics at the University of Virginia. He co-translated Meša Selimoviƒ's Death and the Dervish (Northwestern, 1996).
Bogdan Rakic is a visiting associate professor of Slavic Literature at Indiana University. He co-translated Meša Selimoviƒ's Death and the Dervish (Northwestern, 1996) and edited In a Foreign Harbor (Slavica, 2000). He is currently working on Borislav Pekiƒ's literary biography.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 18.95
US$ 19.57

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780810117198: How to Quiet a Vampire: A Sotie (Writings From An Unbound Europe)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0810117193 ISBN 13:  9780810117198
Publisher: Northwestern University Press, 2003
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Borislav Pekic
Published by Northwestern University Press, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Published to acclaim in 1977, this controversial novel of ideas follows Konrad Rutkowski - professor of medieval history and former Gestapo officer - as he returns to the scene of his war crimes determined to renounce, or perhaps justify, his Nazi past. In a series of letters to a brother-in-law, Rutkowski lays out his ambivalent reactions to war and unthinkable violence, connecting his own swirling ideas to those of some of the major figures of European thought: Plato, St. Augustine, Descartes, Nietzsche, Freud, and others. But the novel is more than an intellectual meditation. Pekic was himself a frequent political agitator and occasional prisoner, and he drew on his first hand knowledge of police methods and life under totalitarianism to paint a chilling portrait of an intellectual acting as a tool of repression. At the same time he questions whether Rutkowski s ideology puts him outside the philosophical tradition he so admires - or if the line separating it from totalitarianism is not as clear as we like to think. Seller Inventory # AAC9780810117204

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Pekic, Borislav
Published by Northwestern University Press (2003)
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 0810117207

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Pekic, Borislav
Published by Northwestern University Press
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0810117207. Seller Inventory # Z0810117207ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Pekic, Borislav
Published by Northwestern University Press
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0810117207. Seller Inventory # Z0810117207ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Pekic, Borislav
Published by Northwestern University Press
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0810117207. Seller Inventory # Z0810117207ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Pekic, Borislav
Published by Northwestern University Press
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0810117207. Seller Inventory # Z0810117207ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Pekic, Borislav
Published by Northwestern University Press
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0810117207. Seller Inventory # Z0810117207ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Pekic, Borislav
Published by Northwestern University Press
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0810117207. Seller Inventory # Z0810117207ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Pekic, Borislav
Published by Northwestern University Press
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0810117207. Seller Inventory # Z0810117207ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Borislav Pekic
Published by Northwestern University Press, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0810117207 ISBN 13: 9780810117204
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Northwestern University Press, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Published to acclaim in 1977, this controversial novel of ideas follows Konrad Rutkowski - professor of medieval history and former Gestapo officer - as he returns to the scene of his war crimes determined to renounce, or perhaps justify, his Nazi past. In a series of letters to a brother-in-law, Rutkowski lays out his ambivalent reactions to war and unthinkable violence, connecting his own swirling ideas to those of some of the major figures of European thought: Plato, St. Augustine, Descartes, Nietzsche, Freud, and others. But the novel is more than an intellectual meditation. Pekic was himself a frequent political agitator and occasional prisoner, and he drew on his first hand knowledge of police methods and life under totalitarianism to paint a chilling portrait of an intellectual acting as a tool of repression. At the same time he questions whether Rutkowski s ideology puts him outside the philosophical tradition he so admires - or if the line separating it from totalitarianism is not as clear as we like to think. Seller Inventory # AAC9780810117204

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book