Masterpiece Theatre and the Politics of Quality

5 avg rating
( 1 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780810832046: Masterpiece Theatre and the Politics of Quality
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Masterpiece Theatre, the popular British-made series that enjoyed a long and successful run on public television, is regarded by many as the standard against which all "quality" programs should be measured. In this study, Laurence Jarvik provides insight into the many forces that shaped the series: its sponsor (Mobil Oil Company), its American broadcast affiliate (television station WGBH in Boston), the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), its host (Alistair Cooke), and the Nixon Administration.

Jarvik sheds light on the many political and social issues involved in public television and in broadcast media in general. How much influence do American government and business have over the media in this and other countries? How does this affect the content and quality of the programs that we see?

Meticulously researched and brimming with references to related resources on the politics of media, Masterpiece Theatre and the Politics of Quality is an essential work for teachers and students of English literature, political science, and film and television studies, as well as for fans of Masterpiece Theatre and PBS.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Laurence A. Jarvik teaches managerial classes in the MBA program at Johns Hopkins University. He is the author of PBS: Behind the Screen and editor of Public Broadcasting and the Public Trust.

Review:

Offers detailed information on relations between the show's sponsor (Mobil Oil Company), the American broadcast affiliate, the Public Broadcasting Service, its host, and the Nixon administration, and sheds light on political and social issues involved in public television and broadcast media in general. (Reference And Research Book News)

A fascinating narrative and analysis of Masterpiece Theater's birth, Jarvik's book exposes the commercial and political motives of all the interested players and makes it no longer possible to think of the series only as a pleasant weekly visit to Edwardian England. (George Griffith)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 110.00
US$ 80.42

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jarvik, Laurence A.
Published by Rowman and Littlefield Publishers
ISBN 10: 0810832046 ISBN 13: 9780810832046
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman and Littlefield Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0810832046

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 80.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Laurence Ariel Jarvik
Published by Scarecrow Press, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0810832046 ISBN 13: 9780810832046
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scarecrow Press, United States, 1998. Hardback. Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Masterpiece Theatre, the popular British-made series that enjoyed a long and successful run on public television, is regarded by many as the standard against which all quality programs should be measured. In this study, Laurence Jarvik provides insight into the many forces that shaped the series: its sponsor (Mobil Oil Company), its American broadcast affiliate (television station WGBH in Boston), the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), its host (Alistair Cooke), and the Nixon Administration. Jarvik sheds light on the many political and social issues involved in public television and in broadcast media in general. How much influence do American government and business have over the media in this and other countries? How does this affect the content and quality of the programs that we see? Meticulously researched and brimming with references to related resources on the politics of media, Masterpiece Theatre and the Politics of Quality is an essential work for teachers and students of English literature, political science, and film and television studies, as well as for fans of Masterpiece Theatre and PBS. Seller Inventory # ANB9780810832046

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 90.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jarvik, Laurence A.
Published by Scarecrow Press (1998)
ISBN 10: 0810832046 ISBN 13: 9780810832046
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scarecrow Press, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110810832046

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 92.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jarvik, Laurence A.
Published by Scarecrow Press
ISBN 10: 0810832046 ISBN 13: 9780810832046
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scarecrow Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0810832046 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # SWATI2132717416

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 97.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jarvik, Laurence A.
ISBN 10: 0810832046 ISBN 13: 9780810832046
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1998. HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # TR-9780810832046

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 98.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Laurence Ariel Jarvik
Published by Scarecrow Press, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0810832046 ISBN 13: 9780810832046
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scarecrow Press, United States, 1998. Hardback. Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Masterpiece Theatre, the popular British-made series that enjoyed a long and successful run on public television, is regarded by many as the standard against which all quality programs should be measured. In this study, Laurence Jarvik provides insight into the many forces that shaped the series: its sponsor (Mobil Oil Company), its American broadcast affiliate (television station WGBH in Boston), the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), its host (Alistair Cooke), and the Nixon Administration. Jarvik sheds light on the many political and social issues involved in public television and in broadcast media in general. How much influence do American government and business have over the media in this and other countries? How does this affect the content and quality of the programs that we see? Meticulously researched and brimming with references to related resources on the politics of media, Masterpiece Theatre and the Politics of Quality is an essential work for teachers and students of English literature, political science, and film and television studies, as well as for fans of Masterpiece Theatre and PBS. Seller Inventory # ANB9780810832046

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 104.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Laurence A. Jarvik
Published by Scarecrow Press (1998)
ISBN 10: 0810832046 ISBN 13: 9780810832046
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scarecrow Press, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0810832046

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 114.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Laurence Ariel Jarvik
Published by Scarecrow Press, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0810832046 ISBN 13: 9780810832046
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scarecrow Press, United States, 1998. Hardback. Condition: New. New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Masterpiece Theatre, the popular British-made series that enjoyed a long and successful run on public television, is regarded by many as the standard against which all quality programs should be measured. In this study, Laurence Jarvik provides insight into the many forces that shaped the series: its sponsor (Mobil Oil Company), its American broadcast affiliate (television station WGBH in Boston), the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), its host (Alistair Cooke), and the Nixon Administration. Jarvik sheds light on the many political and social issues involved in public television and in broadcast media in general. How much influence do American government and business have over the media in this and other countries? How does this affect the content and quality of the programs that we see? Meticulously researched and brimming with references to related resources on the politics of media, Masterpiece Theatre and the Politics of Quality is an essential work for teachers and students of English literature, political science, and film and television studies, as well as for fans of Masterpiece Theatre and PBS. Seller Inventory # BTE9780810832046

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 132.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Laurence Ariel Jarvik
ISBN 10: 0810832046 ISBN 13: 9780810832046
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1999. Hardcover. Condition: New. Hardcover. Provides insight into the many forces that shaped Masterpiece Theatre, the popular British-made series: its sponsor (Mobil Oil Company), its American broadcast affiliate (tele.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 256 pages. 0.454. Seller Inventory # 9780810832046

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 148.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds