General Fiction Monica Wood My Only Story

ISBN 13: 9780811827140

My Only Story

3.52 avg rating
( 266 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780811827140: My Only Story

An unconventional love story frames this graceful, funny, and moving novel by a writer of exceptional talent. Rita, a hair stylist in her 20s attuned to the suffering of others and the ways that she can help, meets John Reed who, she observes, though not yet out of his thirties, "...seemed old, the way all sad people do." As they come to know, trust, and eventually love one another, John tells Rita "his only story," the one story that each of us tells that defines us the most. In a dark, terrible moment five years earlier, John's brother Roger killed his own wife and then himself, orphaning their then 3-year-old daughter, Aileen. After Aileen is adopted by her dead mother's close-knit trio of sisters, John is excluded from contact with her in memory of his brother's tragic act. With Rita's help, ties are slowly reestablished with Aileen, and John and Rita's own relationship moves in a direction that seems at once inevitable and completely unexpected. An exploration of love, sacrifice, and the bonds of family which will appeal to readers of Lorrie Moore, Ann Hood, and Rosellyn Brown, Monica Wood's novel speaks to our deepest longing and brightest hopes.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

"He came to me first in a dream, as a crippled dog angling down a country lane, puzzled by his sudden age, his bum paw, the dry stick clamped between his teeth. I'd been expecting this dream for a very long time, and I woke up moving. . . .
Rita Rosario has a gift, a way with people. She listens to them and really sees them for who they are-warts and all. And sometimes, she even knows how to guide them toward a new beginning. Women, even men, come to Rita's beauty shop for perms, town gossip, and the makeovers of their very lives.
John Reed first appears to Rita in one of her dreams. When they meet at a town gathering a few days later, she immediately offers him a haircut, and her heart. As they share their stories, Rita senses she can help John fill a void by reconnecting him to his only family-a young niece he nearly lost in a heartbreaking tragedy. While inspiring John on a journey out of loneliness and into reconciliation, Rita begins to come to terms with events in her past . . . and discovers things about herself she never realized, including her own intimate role in John's unfolding story.

About the Author:

Monica Wood fiction has appeared in numerous magazines, been anthologies and has been awarded a Pushcart Prize. She is the author of an earlier novel, Secret Language, and lives in Southern Maine.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Monica Wood
ISBN 10: 0811827143 ISBN 13: 9780811827140
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97808118271401.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Monica Wood
Published by Chronicle Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0811827143 ISBN 13: 9780811827140
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books, 2000. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0811827143

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Monica Wood
Published by Chronicle Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0811827143 ISBN 13: 9780811827140
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books, 2000. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0811827143

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wood, Monica
Published by Chronicle Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0811827143 ISBN 13: 9780811827140
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books, 2000. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110811827143

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds