Someplace to Be Flying (Newford)

4.31 avg rating
( 5,089 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780812551587: Someplace to Be Flying (Newford)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Here is Lily, a photojournalist in search of the "animal people" who supposedly haunt the city's darkest slums. Here is Hank, who knows those slums all too well. One night, in a brutal incident, their lives collide--uptown Lily and downtown Hank, each with a quest and a role to play in the secret drama of the city's oldest inhabitants.

For the animal people walk among us. Native Americans call them the First People, but they have never left, and they claim they city for their own.

Not only have Hank and Lily stumbled onto a secret, they've stumbled into a war. And in this battle for the city's soul, nothing is quite as it appears.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Nobody does urban fantasy better than Charles de Lint. He has a gift for creating engaging, fully realized characters, totally believable dialogue, and a feeling that magic is just around the corner.

Someplace to Be Flying is set in Newford, a town familiar to readers of de Lint. (He set two prior novels (Memory and Dream and Trader) and two anthologies (Dreams Underfoot and The Ivory and the Horn) in Newford.) One late night, as Hank drives his gypsy cab, his reliable though perilous city is transformed. He encounters the mythical "animal people," and the experience leaves him--and the reader--questioning accepted reality.

"Hank just wanted away from here. He'd sampled some hallucinogens when he was a kid and the feeling he had now was a lot like coming down from an acid high. Everything slightly askew, illogical things that somehow made sense, everything too sharp and clear when you looked at it but fading fast in your peripheral vision, blurred, like it didn't really exist." Fans of Emma Bull and Terri Windling (as both an editor and an author) will enjoy de Lint. He can make you believe "as many as six impossible things before breakfast." --Nona Vero

From the Publisher:

"As engaging a stylist as Stephen King, but considerably more inventive and ambitious." --Toronto Globe and Mail

"An enthralling blend of old European and Native American mythology, seamlessly worked into a modern setting and situation. De Lint's best so far." --Kirkus Reviews

"The reader does not have to be strictly a fan of either thrillers or fantasy to thoroughly enjoy this delightful tale." --The Washington Post

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

de Lint, Charles
Published by Tor Fantasy
ISBN 10: 0812551583 ISBN 13: 9780812551587
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wit's End Books
(Berkeley, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Fantasy. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0812551583 New: Packaged Carefully & Shipped Promptly. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Seller Inventory # 007301

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Charles de Lint
Published by Tor Fantasy (1999)
ISBN 10: 0812551583 ISBN 13: 9780812551587
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Fantasy, 1999. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. First Thus. Seller Inventory # DADAX0812551583

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

de Lint, Charles
Published by Tor Fantasy
ISBN 10: 0812551583 ISBN 13: 9780812551587
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Fantasy. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0812551583 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-0812551583

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

de Lint, Charles
Published by Tor Fantasy (1999)
ISBN 10: 0812551583 ISBN 13: 9780812551587
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Fantasy, 1999. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110812551583

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds