The Warriors (Religion, Theology and the Holocaust)

5 avg rating
( 2 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780815608394: The Warriors (Religion, Theology and the Holocaust)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In this candid memoir, Harold Zissman examines Jewish existence in prewar and wartime Poland. Born into an observant family, he begins by recalling his youth in the Polish town of Ostrow-Mazowieck, near the German border. It is the 1930s, a time of childhood nostalgia darkened by ominous anti-Semitic uprisings and government indifference.

In lean and concise prose, Zissman relives the German invasion of Poland and his own incarceration in a forced labor camp. He recalls life in the Derechin ghetto, where every day brought brutal Nazi persecution and the constant threat of slaughter. Finally, he tells of escape to Russia, where he fought alongside Soviet partisansonly to face prejudice from his comrades. In the tradition of Elie Wiesel and Primo Levi, Zissman probes the Nazi impact on Jewish notions of identity and community during and after the Holocaust. Few books offer such detailed insights into the complexity, peril, and volatility of life as a Jew among non-Jewish Soviet partisans, even while battling a common enemy.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Harold Zissman has lectured about his experiences during the Holocaust at a number of schools and organizations across the country. This is his first book.

Review:

"Zissman's story is gripping, unusual-and he tells it well." -- John K. Roth, author of Holocaust Politics

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Zissman, Harold
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New Quantity Available: 8
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2005. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780815608394

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Zissman, Harold
Published by Syracuse University Press
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Syracuse University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 081560839X. Seller Inventory # Z081560839XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Zissman, Harold
Published by Syracuse University Press
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Syracuse University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 081560839X. Seller Inventory # Z081560839XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Zissman, Harold
Published by Syracuse University Press
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Syracuse University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 081560839X. Seller Inventory # Z081560839XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Zissman, Harold
Published by Syracuse University Press
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Syracuse University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 081560839X. Seller Inventory # Z081560839XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Zissman, Harold
Published by Syracuse University Press
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Syracuse University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 081560839X. Seller Inventory # Z081560839XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Zissman, Harold
Published by Syracuse University Press
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Syracuse University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 081560839X. Seller Inventory # Z081560839XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Zissman, Harold
Published by Syracuse University Press
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Syracuse University Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 081560839X. Seller Inventory # Z081560839XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Zissman, Harold
Published by Syracuse University Press 12/7/2005 (2005)
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Syracuse University Press 12/7/2005, 2005. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Warriors: My Life as a Jewish Soviet Partisan. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780815608394

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Harold Zissman
Published by Syracuse University Press, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 081560839X ISBN 13: 9780815608394
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Syracuse University Press, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A first-hand account that gives special attention to the author's experience among pre-dominantly non-Jewish partisans in Soviet Russia, where he confronted anti-Semitism while facing a common enemy. In this candid memoir, Harold Zissman examines Jewish existence in prewar and wartime Poland. Born into an observant family, he begins by recalling his youth in the Polish town of Ostrow-Mazowieck, near the German border. It is the 1930s, a time of childhood nostalgia darkened by ominous anti-Semitic uprisings and government indifference. In lean and concise prose, Zissman relives the German invasion of Poland and his own incarceration in a forced labor camp. He recalls life in the Derechin ghetto, where every day brought brutal Nazi persecution and the constant threat of slaughter. Finally, he tells of escape to Russia, where he fought alongside Soviet partisans - only to face prejudice from his comrades. In the tradition of Elie Wiesel and Primo Levi, Zissman probes the Nazi impact on Jewish notions of identity and community during and after the Holocaust. Few books offer such detailed insights into the complexity, peril, and volatility of life as a Jew among non-Jewish Soviet partisans, even while battling a common enemy. Seller Inventory # AAC9780815608394

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book