Antonio Negri Trilogy of Resistance

ISBN 13: 9780816672936

Trilogy of Resistance

2.83 avg rating
( 6 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780816672936: Trilogy of Resistance
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

With Trilogy of Resistance, the political philosopher Antonio Negri extends his intervention in contemporary politics and culture into a new medium: drama. The three plays collected for the first time in this volume dramatize the central concepts of the innovative and influential thought he has articulated in his best-selling books Empire and Multitude, coauthored with Michael Hardt.
In the tradition of Bertolt Brecht and Heiner Müller, Negri’s political dramas are designed to provoke debate around the fundamental questions they raise about resistance, violence, and tyranny. In Swarm, the protagonist searches for an effective mode of activism; with the help of a Greek-style chorus, she tries on different roles, from the suicide bomber and party apparatchik to the multitude. The Bent Man, set in fascist Italy, focuses on a woodcutter who resists fascism by bending himself in two and using his own now-twisted body as a weapon against war. In Cithaeron, perhaps the most audacious of the three plays, Negri reworks Euripides’s Bacchae to explore the circumstances that would compel a diverse and creative community to withdraw from both the despotic government that constrains it and the traditional family relationships that reinforce that despotism.
First published in France in 2009 and featuring an introduction by Negri, Trilogy of Resistance provides a direct and passionate distillation of Negri’s concepts and offers insights into one of the most important projects in political philosophy currently under way, as well as a timely reminder of the power of theater to effectively dramatize complex and challenging ideas.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Antonio Negri, who has taught at the University of Padua and the University of Paris, is the author of more than thirty books, including Empire and Multitude, with Michael Hardt; Insurgencies: Constituent Power and the Modern State (Minnesota, 1999); The Savage Anomaly (Minnesota, 2000); and In Praise of the Common, with Cesare Casarino (Minnesota, 2008).Timothy S. Murphy is associate professor of English at the University of Oklahoma. He is the author of Antonio Negri and Wising Up the Marks: The Amodern William Burroughs.Barbara Nicolier is a director living in Paris. She premiered many of Negri's plays for the stage and performed the French version of Trilogy of Resistance for a radio broadcast.

Review:

"Trilogy of Resistance is fascinating. These plays advance Antonio Negri’s philosophical and political project, one of the few genuine adventures in contemporary radical thought. In their language and conception they belong to the main trajectory of Negri’s work, yet they also swerve away in surprising directions, gathering echoes from ancient and modern literature to give theory a new voice. It is a book full of affective power, conceptual daring, and political courage." —Richard Dienst, Rutgers University

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 75.00
US$ 13.96

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780816672943: Trilogy of Resistance

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0816672946 ISBN 13:  9780816672943
Publisher: Univ Of Minnesota Press, 2011
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Timothy S. Murphy
Published by University of Minnesota Press, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0816672938 ISBN 13: 9780816672936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Minnesota Press, United States, 2011. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The first collection of plays-provocative political dramas-by the coauthor of the best-selling book Empire With Trilogy of Resistance, the political philosopher Antonio Negri extends his intervention in contemporary politics and culture into a new medium: drama. The three plays collected for the first time in this volume (Swarm, The Bent Man, and Cithaeron) dramatize the central concepts of the innovative and influential thought he has articulated in his best-selling books Empire and Multitude, coauthored with Michael Hardt. Seller Inventory # POW9780816672936

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Antonio Negri
Published by University of Minnesota Press, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0816672938 ISBN 13: 9780816672936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Minnesota Press, United States, 2011. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. With Trilogy of Resistance, the political philosopher Antonio Negri extends his intervention in contemporary politics and culture into a new medium: drama. The three plays collected for the first time in this volume dramatize the central concepts of the innovative and influential thought he has articulated in his best-selling books Empire and Multitude, coauthored with Michael Hardt. In the tradition of Bertolt Brecht and Heiner Mu00fcller, Negriu2019s political dramas are designed to provoke debate around the fundamental questions they raise about resistance, violence, and tyranny. In Swarm, the protagonist searches for an effective mode of activism; with the help of a Greek-style chorus, she tries on different roles, from the suicide bomber and party apparatchik to the multitude. The Bent Man, set in fascist Italy, focuses on a woodcutter who resists fascism by bending himself in two and using his own now-twisted body as a weapon against war. In Cithaeron, perhaps the most audacious of the three plays, Negri reworks Euripidesu2019s Bacchae to explore the circumstances that would compel a diverse and creative community to withdraw from both the despotic government that constrains it and the traditional family relationships that reinforce that despotism.First published in France in 2009 and featuring an introduction by Negri, Trilogy of Resistance provides a direct and passionate distillation of Negriu2019s concepts and offers insights into one of the most important projects in political philosophy currently under way, as well as a timely reminder of the power of theater to effectively dramatize complex and challenging ideas. Seller Inventory # POW9780816672936

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Negri, Antonio
Published by Univ Of Minnesota Press
ISBN 10: 0816672938 ISBN 13: 9780816672936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Mesilla Internet
(Mesilla, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Univ Of Minnesota Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0816672938 New. Seller Inventory # Z0816672938ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.48
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Antonio Negri, Timothy S. Murphy (Translator)
Published by Univ Of Minnesota Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0816672938 ISBN 13: 9780816672936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Univ Of Minnesota Press, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0816672938

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 52.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Negri, Antonio
Published by Univ of Minnesota Press
ISBN 10: 0816672938 ISBN 13: 9780816672936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Univ of Minnesota Press. Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Hardcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Seller Inventory # 2781573

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds