The Films of Samuel Fuller: If You Die, I’ll Kill You (Wesleyan Film)

3.33 avg rating
( 6 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780819568663: The Films of Samuel Fuller: If You Die, I’ll Kill You (Wesleyan Film)

A cigar-chomping storyteller who signaled “Action!” by shooting a gun, Samuel Fuller has been lionized as one of the most distinctive writer/directors ever to emerge from Hollywood. In such films as The Steel Helmet, Pickup on South Street, Shock Corridor, and The Big Red One, Fuller gleefully challenged classical and generic norms—and often standards of good taste—in an effort to shock and arouse audiences. Tackling war, crime, race, and sexuality with a candor rare for any period, Fuller’s maverick vision was tested by Hollywood’s transition from the studio system to independent filmmaking. Now, in the first full account of all of the director’s audaciously original work, author Lisa Dombrowski brings his career into new relief. The Films of Samuel Fuller features close analysis of Fuller’s pictures and draws on previously untapped production and regulatory files, script notes, and interviews to explore how artistic, economic, and industrial factors impacted Fuller’s career choices and shaped the expression of his personal aesthetic. Fans of Fuller and American cinema will welcome this in-depth study of a provocative director who embodied both the unique opportunities and challenges of postwar filmmaking.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

LISA DOMBROWSKI is an associate professor of film studies at Wesleyan University.

Review:

“This book explodes on the printed page with all the fury and ferocity of her subject’s most vivid explorations of the cinema of violence. Dombrowski has marvelously managed to make Samuel Fuller, the man, emerge more clearly from the mists of mythology he himself helped create. Splendid film scholarship!” (Andrew Sarris, film critic, The New York Observer)

“In the strange universe of American cinema Sam Fuller is a certified bad-ass―stylistically visceral, thematically contentious, but always brutally honest. Lisa Dombrowski has written an invaluable and focused portrait of Fuller’s work, deftly placing it in the context of both a shifting studio system and the moral instability of the world at large.” (Jim Jarmusch, director, Stranger than Paradise, Broken Flowers)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 27.95
US$ 22.78

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lisa Dombrowski
Published by University Press of New England, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University Press of New England, United States, 2008. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A cigar-chomping storyteller who signaled Action! by shooting a gun, Samuel Fuller has been lionized as one of the most distinctive writer/directors ever to emerge from Hollywood. In such films as The Steel Helmet, Pickup on South Street, Shock Corridor, and The Big Red One, Fuller gleefully challenged classical and generic norms-and often standards of good taste-in an effort to shock and arouse audiences. Tackling war, crime, race, and sexuality with a candor rare for any period, Fuller s maverick vision was tested by Hollywood s transition from the studio system to independent filmmaking. Now, in the first full account of all of the director s audaciously original work, author Lisa Dombrowski brings his career into new relief. The Films of Samuel Fuller features close analysis of Fuller s pictures and draws on previously untapped production and regulatory files, script notes, and interviews to explore how artistic, economic, and industrial factors impacted Fuller s career choices and shaped the expression of his personal aesthetic. Fans of Fuller and American cinema will welcome this in-depth study of a provocative director who embodied both the unique opportunities and challenges of postwar filmmaking. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780819568663

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dombrowski, Lisa
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KS-9780819568663

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Dombrowski, Lisa
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780819568663

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lisa Dombrowski
Published by University Press of New England, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University Press of New England, United States, 2008. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A cigar-chomping storyteller who signaled Action! by shooting a gun, Samuel Fuller has been lionized as one of the most distinctive writer/directors ever to emerge from Hollywood. In such films as The Steel Helmet, Pickup on South Street, Shock Corridor, and The Big Red One, Fuller gleefully challenged classical and generic norms-and often standards of good taste-in an effort to shock and arouse audiences. Tackling war, crime, race, and sexuality with a candor rare for any period, Fuller s maverick vision was tested by Hollywood s transition from the studio system to independent filmmaking. Now, in the first full account of all of the director s audaciously original work, author Lisa Dombrowski brings his career into new relief. The Films of Samuel Fuller features close analysis of Fuller s pictures and draws on previously untapped production and regulatory files, script notes, and interviews to explore how artistic, economic, and industrial factors impacted Fuller s career choices and shaped the expression of his personal aesthetic. Fans of Fuller and American cinema will welcome this in-depth study of a provocative director who embodied both the unique opportunities and challenges of postwar filmmaking. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780819568663

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Dombrowski, Lisa
Published by Wesleyan (2008)
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wesleyan, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 081956866X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dombrowski, Lisa
Published by Wesleyan
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wesleyan. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 081956866X. Bookseller Inventory # Z081956866XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Dombrowski, Lisa
Published by Wesleyan
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wesleyan. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 081956866X. Bookseller Inventory # Z081956866XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Dombrowski, Lisa
Published by Wesleyan
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wesleyan. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 081956866X. Bookseller Inventory # Z081956866XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Dombrowski, Lisa
Published by Wesleyan
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wesleyan. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Hardcover - First comprehensive study of this American original A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Bookseller Inventory # 2564109

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Lisa Dombrowski
Published by Wesleyan University Press
ISBN 10: 081956866X ISBN 13: 9780819568663
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wesleyan University Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780819568663

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book