Walter N. King Hamlet's Search for Meaning

ISBN 13: 9780820338552

Hamlet's Search for Meaning

3 avg rating
( 1 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780820338552: Hamlet's Search for Meaning

Theological and psychological interpretations of Shakespeare’s most problematic play have been pursued as complementary to each other. In this bold reading, Walter N. King brings twentiethcentury Christian existentialism and post-Freudian psychological theory to bear upon Hamlet and his famous problems. King draws on the support of Paul Tillich, John Macquarrie, and Nicolai Beryaev, who radically reinterpreted the Christian doctrine of providence, and presents an unconventional thesis. He derives illuminating psychological insights from Erik Erikson, the pioneer in the modern study of identity, and Viktor Frankl, the founder of logotherapy.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Walter N. King taught at the University of Montana. He is the editor of Twentieth-Century Interpretations of Twelfth Night.

Review:

A major study of Hamlet. It draws together a Christian interpretation with solid work in the vein of Erikson and Frankl; the combined focus produces something that is new and convincing.

(David Bevington)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

King, Walter N.
Published by University of Georgia Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press, 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780820338552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Walter N King
Published by University of Georgia Press, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Theological and psychological interpretations of Shakespeare s most problematic play have been pursued as complementary to each other. In this bold reading, Walter N. King brings twentiethcentury Christian existentialism and post-Freudian psychological theory to bear upon Hamlet and his famous problems. King draws on the support of Paul Tillich, John Macquarrie, and Nicolai Beryaev, who radically reinterpreted the Christian doctrine of providence, and presents an unconventional thesis. He derives illuminating psychological insights from Erik Erikson, the pioneer in the modern study of identity, and Viktor Frankl, the founder of logotherapy. Bookseller Inventory # TNP9780820338552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

King, Walter N.
Published by University of Georgia Press 3/1/2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press 3/1/2011, 2011. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. Hamlet's Search for Meaning. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780820338552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Walter N King
Published by University of Georgia Press, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Theological and psychological interpretations of Shakespeare s most problematic play have been pursued as complementary to each other. In this bold reading, Walter N. King brings twentiethcentury Christian existentialism and post-Freudian psychological theory to bear upon Hamlet and his famous problems. King draws on the support of Paul Tillich, John Macquarrie, and Nicolai Beryaev, who radically reinterpreted the Christian doctrine of providence, and presents an unconventional thesis. He derives illuminating psychological insights from Erik Erikson, the pioneer in the modern study of identity, and Viktor Frankl, the founder of logotherapy. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780820338552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Walter N King
Published by University of Georgia Press, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Theological and psychological interpretations of Shakespeare s most problematic play have been pursued as complementary to each other. In this bold reading, Walter N. King brings twentiethcentury Christian existentialism and post-Freudian psychological theory to bear upon Hamlet and his famous problems. King draws on the support of Paul Tillich, John Macquarrie, and Nicolai Beryaev, who radically reinterpreted the Christian doctrine of providence, and presents an unconventional thesis. He derives illuminating psychological insights from Erik Erikson, the pioneer in the modern study of identity, and Viktor Frankl, the founder of logotherapy. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780820338552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Walter N. King
Published by University of Georgia Press
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 192 pages. Dimensions: 8.9in. x 5.9in. x 0.6in.Theological and psychological interpretations of Shakespeares most problematic play have been pursued as complementary to each other. In this bold reading, Walter N. King brings twentiethcentury Christian existentialism and post-Freudian psychological theory to bear upon Hamlet and his famous problems. King draws on the support of Paul Tillich, John Macquarrie, and Nicolai Beryaev, who radically reinterpreted the Christian doctrine of providence, and presents an unconventional thesis. He derives illuminating psychological insights from Erik Erikson, the pioneer in the modern study of identity, and Viktor Frankl, the founder of logotherapy. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780820338552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

King, Walter N.
Published by University of Georgia Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press, 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780820338552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

King, Walter N.
Published by University of Georgia Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # INGM9780820338552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

King, Walter N.
Published by University of Georgia Press
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0820338559 Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9780820338552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Walter N. King
Published by University of Georgia Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0820338559 ISBN 13: 9780820338552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Georgia Press, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0820338559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book