The God I Want (Continuum Icons Series)

ISBN 13: 9780826479686

The God I Want (Continuum Icons Series)

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
9780826479686: The God I Want (Continuum Icons Series)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

Christian theologians have tried to find new words and images to describe and picture God. God is the ground of our being, God is depth, God is dead and so on. The God I Want is not conceived as an exercise in such well-intentioned trend setting. The book consists of personal attempts by individual writers and thinkers to forget all they have ever learned about God and to ask themselves what God, if any, they really want. The chapters raise profound questions about the nature of belief, about human need, about the problem of evil and pain, about the person of Jesus and the roots of Christianity. The question persists - was man created in God's image or God in man's? The present religious debate is somewhat stuck. Many of the arguments have become impersonal and more still are simply rehashes of older sterile conflicts. This book will encourage anyone interested in the future of religious belief to reconsider the idea of God at its heart - in the human.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

James Mitchell was the founder of the publishing house Mitchell Beazley. He was previously the Publishing Director of Thomas Nelson. He commissioned the celebrated series of books called Objections to Chistian Bellef/Roman Catholicism/Humanism and had an abiding interest in religion.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780094513204: The God I Want

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0094513201 ISBN 13:  9780094513204
Publisher: Bobbs Merrill, 1967