C. S. Lewis & Francis Schaeffer: Lessons for a New Century from the Most Influential Apologists of Our Time

3.78 avg rating
( 49 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780830819355: C. S. Lewis & Francis Schaeffer: Lessons for a New Century from the Most Influential Apologists of Our Time
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In some ways, they could not be more different: the pipe-smoking, Anglican Oxford don and the blue-collar scion of conservative Presbyterianism. But C. S. Lewis and Francis Schaeffer, each in his unique way, fashioned Christian apologetics that influenced millions in their lifetimes. And the work of each continues to be read and studied today. In this book Scott Burson and Jerry Walls compare and contrast for the first time the thought of Lewis and Schaeffer. With great respect for the legacy of each man, but with critical insight as well, they suggest strengths and weaknesses of their apologetics. All the while they consider what Lewis and Schaeffer still have to offer in light of postmodernism and other cultural currents that, since their deaths, have changed the apologetic landscape. This incisive book stands as both an excellent introduction to the work of these two important figures and a fresh proposal for apologetics at the dawn of a new century.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Scott R. Burson is assistant professor of religion at Indiana Wesleyan University in Marion, Indiana. Formerly, he served as director of communications at Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky. Burson has had articles published in several periodicals, including The Lamp-Post of the Southern California C. S. Lewis Society.

Review:

"Apologetics can create a climate for faith. Standing on the shoulders of giants like these, we can learn to tell the Story ever more beautifully and effectively." (Clark H. Pinnock)

"Burson and Walls offer students of Lewis and Schaeffer a rare treat: fresh insights into the commonalities and dissonances between these influential thinkers, climaxed by a compelling, holistic agenda for apologetics in the next millennium." (Bruce L. Edwards, author of A Rhetoric of Reading: C. S. Lewis's Defense of Western Literacy)

"This is a first-rate study of Schaeffer and Lewis. It is also a splendid exploration of the issues they sought to identify and explore. Fans of Schaeffer and Lewis will be challenged to enrich what they have already found; newcomers will be drawn into a conversation of striking clarity and depth." (William J. Abraham, Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Scott R. Burson; Jerry L. Walls
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Omega Books and More Inc.
(Springdale, AR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. FAST shipping, FREE tracking, and GREAT customer service! We also offer International and EXPEDITED shipping options. Seller Inventory # 3D7DSF001BJL

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Scott R. Burson, Jerry L. Walls
Published by InterVarsity Press, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description InterVarsity Press, United States, 1998. Paperback. Condition: New. Print-On-Demand ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. For the first time, Scott Burson and Jerry Walls compare and contrast the thought of Lewis and Schaeffer. With great respect for the legacy of each man, but with critical insight as well, they suggest strengths and weaknesses of their apologetics. All the while they consider what Lewis and Schaeffer still have to offer in light of postmodernism and other cultural currents that, since their deaths, have changed the apologetic landscape. This incisive book stands as both an excellent introduction to the work of these two important figures and a fresh proposal for apologetics at the dawn of a new century. Seller Inventory # AAV9780830819355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Scott R. Burson, Jerry L. Walls
Published by InterVarsity Press, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description InterVarsity Press, United States, 1998. Paperback. Condition: New. Print-On-Demand ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.For the first time, Scott Burson and Jerry Walls compare and contrast the thought of Lewis and Schaeffer. With great respect for the legacy of each man, but with critical insight as well, they suggest strengths and weaknesses of their apologetics. All the while they consider what Lewis and Schaeffer still have to offer in light of postmodernism and other cultural currents that, since their deaths, have changed the apologetic landscape. This incisive book stands as both an excellent introduction to the work of these two important figures and a fresh proposal for apologetics at the dawn of a new century. Seller Inventory # AAV9780830819355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Burson, Scott R.
Published by InterVarsity Press (1998)
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description InterVarsity Press, 1998. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780830819355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Burson, Scott R.
Published by IVP Books 4/17/1998 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description IVP Books 4/17/1998, 1998. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. C. S. Lewis & Francis Schaeffer: Lessons for a New Century from the Most Influential Apologists of Our Time. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780830819355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Burson, Scott R.
Published by IVP Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description IVP Books, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 0830819355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Jerry L. Walls
Published by IVP Books
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description IVP Books. Paperback. Condition: New. 308 pages. Dimensions: 8.0in. x 5.4in. x 1.0in.In some ways, they could not be more different: the pipe-smoking, Anglican Oxford don and the blue-collar scion of conservative Presbyterianism. But C. S. Lewis and Francis Schaeffer, each in his unique way, fashioned Christian apologetics that influenced millions in their lifetimes. And the work of each continues to be read and studied today. In this book Scott Burson and Jerry Walls compare and contrast for the first time the thought of Lewis and Schaeffer. With great respect for the legacy of each man, but with critical insight as well, they suggest strengths and weaknesses of their apologetics. All the while they consider what Lewis and Schaeffer still have to offer in light of postmodernism and other cultural currents that, since their deaths, have changed the apologetic landscape. This incisive book stands as both an excellent introduction to the work of these two important figures and a fresh proposal for apologetics at the dawn of a new century. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9780830819355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Scott R. Burson, Jerry L. Walls
Published by IVP Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description IVP Books, 1998. Paperback. Condition: New. Print-On-Demand. Seller Inventory # DADAX0830819355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Scott R. Burson
Published by InterVarsity Press (1998)
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description InterVarsity Press, 1998. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # LQ-9780830819355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.79
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Scott R. Burson; Jerry L. Walls
Published by IVP Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0830819355 ISBN 13: 9780830819355
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description IVP Books, 1998. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0830819355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book