Mildred Friedman Frank Gehry: The Houses

ISBN 13: 9780847830602

Frank Gehry: The Houses

3.25 avg rating
( 8 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780847830602: Frank Gehry: The Houses
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

One of the great architects of our time, Frank Gehry has revolutionized the use of materials in design and redefined how architects use computers as a design tool to advance form-making as we know it. He has achieved worldwide fame for such large-scale public projects as the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain, and the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, California, but it was in private houses that Gehry first explored and interrogated the principles of modern architecture. In these houses—most notably his own, in Santa Monica, California—Gehry distorted, expanded, and collapsed the modernist box, exploring everyday materials (corrugated metal, unfinished plywood, and chain link), experimenting with color, and challenging accepted notions about geometry and structure. In houses such as the Schnabel House in Brentwood, California, and the Winton Guest House in Wayzata, Minnesota, he experimented with collage and assemblage. More recently, Gehry’s work has taken on sculptural forms, aided by new structural and geometric potentials of digital design, as in the near-legendary Lewis House in Lyndhurst, Ohio. Color photographs, sketches, and plans create an illuminating visual record of some of the most groundbreaking, seminal projects of Gehry’s oeuvre.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Frank Gehry has received widespread recognition for his work, including the Pritzker Prize, and many awards from the American Institute of Architects. Mildred Friedman is the editor of Rizzoli’s The Architecture of Frank Gehry (1986) and Gehry Talks: Architecture + Process (1999). Sylvia Lavin is professor of architectural history and theory at UCLA, where she was chairperson from 1996 to 2006.

Review:

The first book of the seminal residential works of Frank Gehry, from his earliest architectural ideas to today.

"Fans of Frank Gehry, FAIA—as well as anyone who primarily thinks of him as an institutional architect—will savor this unorthodox new book... By including homeowners' and collaborators' voices, Friedman provides a rich and candid look inside 23 of the starchitect's startlingly original midcareer houses." ~Residential Architect Online

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 85.00
US$ 236.30

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Friedman, Mildred
Published by Rizzoli (2009)
ISBN 10: 0847830608 ISBN 13: 9780847830602
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rizzoli, 2009. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110847830608

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 236.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Friedman, Mildred
Published by Rizzoli
ISBN 10: 0847830608 ISBN 13: 9780847830602
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rizzoli. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0847830608 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0445201

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 302.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds