Casa No Name

4.5 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780847832194: Casa No Name

In the tradition of Kahlo and Allende, Turbeville’s brilliantly stylish portrait of her Mexican house evokes both her vivid imagination and the mystique of Mexico. High-ceilinged rooms surround a central courtyard that is lined with faded frescoes of biblical scenes. The glimmer and shafts of diffused light that stream into the courtyards and curtained rooms add to the romantic atmosphere—one feels as though they have entered into a quintessential Turbeville photograph. Turbeville has captured the spiritual nature of Mexican culture by incorporating into candlelit interiors such traditional religious artifacts as colorful painted tin retablos, hand-carved saints, wooden tableau boxes, and a central wooden figure of the local Virgin Saint Maria Candelaria: aged objets that are handmade, tell stories, and are arranged in artful vignettes. Casa No Name speaks of magic realism and beckons the reader into the private world of this visionary artist. Turbeville’s diaristic presentation of her home in the central highlands of Mexico is a welcome addition to her rich oeuvre and an inspiration for anyone interested in the soul and style of Mexico.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Deborah Turbeville’s work first appeared in Vogue in the 1970s. Since then, she has been a dominant figure in contemporary photography. Her work continues to be exhibited around the world and is published regularly in many international magazines.

Review:

"Deborah Turbeville, the photographer whose romantic fin de siecle imagery wafted through the pages of Vogue and other fashion and art magazines in the '70s and '80s, is at her moodiest in "Casa No Name" a pictorial memoir of the house she has had in San Miguel, Mexico, since 1985." ~The New York Times

"...haunting collection of photographs..." ~Interiors Magazine

“Turbeville uses her signature painterly quality throughout this haunting portrait and intersperses it with journal entries and poetry waxing lyrical about her spiritual connection with her home.” ~Picture Magazine


"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Turbeville, Deborah
Published by Rizzoli 2009-04-14 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0847832198 ISBN 13: 9780847832194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Book Outpost
(Blawnox, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rizzoli 2009-04-14, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Published. 0847832198 New! Unread publisher overstock copy. Bookseller Inventory # Z0847832198ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Deborah Turbeville
Published by Rizzoli (2009)
ISBN 10: 0847832198 ISBN 13: 9780847832194
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rizzoli, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0847832198

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Turbeville, Deborah
Published by Rizzoli (2009)
ISBN 10: 0847832198 ISBN 13: 9780847832194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rizzoli, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110847832198

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 58.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Turbeville, Deborah
Published by Rizzoli (2009)
ISBN 10: 0847832198 ISBN 13: 9780847832194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rizzoli, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New!. Bookseller Inventory # VIB0847832198

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 58.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Deborah Turbeville,
Published by Rizzoli International Publications April 2009 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0847832198 ISBN 13: 9780847832194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hennessey + Ingalls
(Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rizzoli International Publications April 2009, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. In the tradition of Kahlo and Allende, Turbeville's brilliantly stylish portrait of her Mexican house evokes both her vivid imagination and the mystique of Mexico. High-ceilinged rooms surround a central courtyard that is lined with faded frescoes of biblical scenes. The glimmer and shafts of diffused light that stream into the courtyards and curtained rooms add to the romantic atmosphere--one feels as though they have entered into a quintessential Turbeville photograph. Turbeville has captured the spiritual nature of Mexican culture by incorporating into candlelit interiors such traditional religious artifacts as colorful painted tin retablos, hand-carved saints, wooden tableau boxes, and a central wooden figure of the local Virgin Saint Maria Candelaria: aged objets that are handmade, tell stories, and are arranged in artful vignettes. Casa No Name speaks of magic realism and beckons the reader into the private world of this visionary artist. Turbeville's diaristic presentation of her home in the central highlands of Mexico is a welcome addition to her rich oeuvre and an inspiration for anyone interested in the soul and style of Mexico. Bookseller Inventory # 20101001104347

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 60.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Deborah Turbeville
ISBN 10: 0847832198 ISBN 13: 9780847832194
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
L Books
(EPINAY SUR ORGE, France)
Rating
[?]

Book Description see description. Book Condition: New. Satisfaction Guaranteed. If you are not satisfied with your purchase, you can return it for a replacement or refund. Bookseller Inventory # AEM2-1909

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 87.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.62
From France to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds