Items related to The warden (Victorian fiction)

The warden (Victorian fiction) - Hardcover

9780850670875: The warden (Victorian fiction)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
The Warden, published in 1855, is the first book in Anthony Trollope's Chronicles of Barsetshire series of six novels. It was his fourth novel.The Warden concerns Mr Septimus Harding, the meek, elderly warden of Hiram's Hospital and precentor of Barchester Cathedral, in the fictional county of Barsetshire. Hiram's Hospital is an almshouse supported by a medieval charitable bequest to the Diocese of Barchester. The income maintains the almshouse itself, supports its twelve bedesmen, and, in addition, provides a comfortable abode and living for its warden. Doctor Thorne (1858) is the third novel in Anthony Trollope's series known as the Chronicles of Barsetshire. The idea of the plot was suggested to Trollope by his brother Thomas. It is mainly concerned with the romantic problems of Mary Thorne, niece of Doctor Thomas Thorne (a member of a junior branch of the family of Mr Wilfred Thorne, who appeared in Barchester Towers), and Frank Gresham, the only son of the local squire, although Trollope as the omniscient narrator assures the reader at the beginning that the hero is really the doctor. Themes of the book are the social pain and exclusion caused by illegitimacy, the nefarious effects of the demon drink and the difficulties of romantic attachments outside one's social class.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:
Anthony Trollope was born on 24 April 1815 and attended both Harrow and Winchester schools. His family were poor and eventually were forced to move to Belgium, where his father died. His mother, Frances Trollope, supported the family through writing. Trollope began a life-long career in the civil service with a position as a clerk in the General Post Office in London - he is also credited with later introducing the pillar box. He published his first novel, The Macdermots of Ballycloran in 1847, but his fourth novel, The Warden (1855) began the series of 'Barsetshire' novels for which he was to become best known. This series of five novels featuring interconnecting characters spanned twenty years of Trollope's career as a novelist, as did the 'Palliser' series. He wrong over 47 novels in total, as well as short stories, biographies, travel books and his own autobiography, which was published posthumously in 1883. Trollope resigned from the Post Office in 1867 and stood for Parliament as a Liberal, though he was not elected. He died on 6 December 1882.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherGeneral Microfilm Co
  • Publication date1977
  • ISBN 10 085067087X
  • ISBN 13 9780850670875
  • BindingHardcover
  • Edition number1
  • Number of pages234
  • Rating

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780199537785: The Warden (Oxford World's Classics)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  019953778X ISBN 13:  9780199537785
Publisher: Oxford University Press, 2009

  • 9781420968354: The Warden

    Digire..., 2020

  • 9780141198996: Penguin English Library the Warden (The Penguin English Library)

    Pengui..., 2012

  • 9781341343186: The Warden

    Palala..., 2015

  • 9780559981654: The Warden

    Biblio..., 2009

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Published by Folio Society (1976)
ISBN 10: 085067087X ISBN 13: 9780850670875
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 085067087X-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 99.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds