The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

ISBN 13: 9780851407777

The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

 
9780851407777: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Bestselling author Anne Perry and Conan Doyle's most recent biographer, Daniel Stashower, among others, contribute new stories that expand this tribute to Conan Doyle's immortal creation. Mystery editors Martin Greenberg and Carol-Lynn R"ssel Waugh specially commissioned original works by Stephen King, Michael Gilbert, John Lutz, Edward D. Hoch, Dorothy B. Hughes, Peter Lovesey, Lillian de la Torre, John Gardner, and others for the first edition. With over 100,000 copies sold since its publication for the centennial of the first Holmes story, "The Speckled Band," in 1987, The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes has ranked in popularity only after the first Conan Doyle stories. "A first-rate collection . . . A splendid addition to Holmesiana, worthy of its honoree" - Publishers Weekly "A well-mixed and amusing assortment" - Los Angeles Times Book Review "Mini-masterpieces in the Conan Doyle style" - Philadelphia Inquirer "[A] fine compendium of crime" - Chicago Sun-Times

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Publishers Weekly:

An absolute must for fans celebrating Holmes's centennial, this is also a first-rate collection of new stories that could serve nicely as an introduction to the famous sleuth. There isn't a bad tale in these 15although purists may balk at Loren D. Estleman's "Dr. and Mrs. Watson At Home," a snippy playlet, and at the rather nerdy Watson who narrates Joyce Harrington's "The Adventure of the Gowanus Abduction." Most of the stories are affectionate, accurate pastiches of the originals. Among the best are Dorothy B. Hughes's "Sherlock Holmes and the Muffin," and Stephen King's "The Doctor's Case," which keeps the old form while allowing the mystery to be solved by Watson, with a lovely twist at the end. "The House That Jack Built" by Edward Wellen is an hallucinogenic tour de force of a puzzle that revives Moriarty, with a startling idea about the real nature of that "Napoleon of crime." Michael Harrison's "Sherlock Holmes and 'The Woman' " identifies Irene Adler as Lillie Langtry in a brilliant now-it-can-be-told style from a nonegenarian Watson. A splendid addition to Holmesiana, worthy of its honoree. Period illustrations not seen by PW. 25,000 first printing; Mystery Guild main selection.
Copyright 1987 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Library Journal:

To mark the 100th anniversary of the first appearance in print of Sherlock Holmes, the estate of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle has authorized an official book of new short stories, written by 16 British and American authors, including John Gardner and Stephen King. Among the more effective and successful tales are those that adopt the time frame and style of the originals, e.g., Stuart Kaminsky's "The Final Toast" and Barry Jones's "The Shadows on the Lawn." Stories with a modern setting offer a further extension of the Holmes mystique. Entertaining reading for fans of Conan Doyle. Lydia Burruel Johnson, Mesa P.L., Ariz.
Copyright 1987 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

n/a
Published by Arlington Books Publishers Ltd (1990)
ISBN 10: 0851407773 ISBN 13: 9780851407777
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arlington Books Publishers Ltd, 1990. Book Condition: Good. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP75115078

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Published by Arlington Books Publishers Ltd (1990)
ISBN 10: 0851407773 ISBN 13: 9780851407777
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arlington Books Publishers Ltd, 1990. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in good condition but will show signs of previous ownership. Please expect some creasing to the spine and/or minor damage to the cover. Bookseller Inventory # CHL2417073

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.65
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Martin Greenberg, Carol Lynn Rossel-Waugh
Published by Arlington Books Publishers Ltd 22/02/1990 (1990)
ISBN 10: 0851407773 ISBN 13: 9780851407777
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arlington Books Publishers Ltd 22/02/1990, 1990. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 2341-9780851407777

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.65
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Martin Greenberg, Carol Lynn Rossel-Waugh
Published by Arlington Books Publishers Ltd 22/02/1990 (1990)
ISBN 10: 0851407773 ISBN 13: 9780851407777
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arlington Books Publishers Ltd 22/02/1990, 1990. Book Condition: Very Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 6545-9780851407777

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.65
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Published by -
ISBN 10: 0851407773 ISBN 13: 9780851407777
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description -. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780851407777

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.65
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Published by -
ISBN 10: 0851407773 ISBN 13: 9780851407777
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description -. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780851407777

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.65
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Martin Greenberg, Carol Lynn Rossel-Waugh
Published by Arlington Books Publishers Ltd 22/02/1990 (1990)
ISBN 10: 0851407773 ISBN 13: 9780851407777
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arlington Books Publishers Ltd 22/02/1990, 1990. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780851407777

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Greenberg, Martin, Rossel-Waugh, Carol Lynn
Published by Arlington Books Publishers Ltd 1990-02-22 (1990)
ISBN 10: 0851407773 ISBN 13: 9780851407777
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookdonors CIC
(GALASHIELS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arlington Books Publishers Ltd 1990-02-22, 1990. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. All books are pre-owned and will have been read by someone else before you. They may well show signs of minor wear and tear. Please note, cover images are illustrative only, and the actual book cover and edition can vary. Bookseller Inventory # 9780851407777-21

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.26
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds