Scott Westerfeld Specials

ISBN 13: 9780857079152

Specials

3.77 avg rating
( 153,668 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780857079152: Specials
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Simon Schuster Ltd, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 130 mm. Brand New Book. "Special Circcumstances".the words have sent chills down Tally's spine since her days as a repellent, rebellious Ugly. Back then, the Specials were a sinister rumour - frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, and breathtakingly fast. And now Tally's become one of them: a super-amped fighting machine, engineered to keep the Uglies down and the Pretties stupid. But one tiny corner of Tally's heart still remembers something different. When she is ordered to stamp out the rebels of the New Smoke, she is forced to make one last choice: carry out the mission she's been programmed to complete, or listen to that faint yet persistent heartbeat telling her that something's wrong.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

'YA's hippest author' Scott Westerfeld is the author of the hugely popular Uglies series. As well as the Midnighters series and three stand alone YA novels, he has written five science fiction novels for adults. He and his wife, Justine, divide their time between Sydney and New York.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 8 Up–This final installment in the series is a warning of the dangers of overconsumption and conformity. Set some time in the future, after a human-made bacteria destroyed the modern world, the trilogy tells of new cities established and tightly controlled through brainwashing and a series of operations leading to a compliant society. Tally Youngblood, the 16-year-old protagonist, learns in the first two books that free will and truth are more important than a false sense of security. In Specials, she has become an elite fighting machine, fully enhanced with nanotechnology and super-fast reflexes, and made to work as a Special Circumstances agent for the nameless city that she fled. As in the first two books, much of the story takes place with characters whizzing through the air on hoverboards, but Tally and her friends are in for some harsh realities here. Readers who enjoyed Uglies and Pretties (both S & S, 2005) will not want to miss Specials, but those who have not read those books will not understand much of what is happening. Westerfeld's themes include vanity, environmental conservation, Utopian idealism, fascism, violence, and love. In this trilogy, the author calls for a revolution in our hearts and minds–think The Matrix.–Corinda J. Humphrey, Los Angeles Public Library
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Scott Westerfeld
Published by Simon Schuster Ltd, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon Schuster Ltd, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Re-issue. Language: English . Brand New Book. Special Circcumstances . the words have sent chills down Tally s spine since her days as a repellent, rebellious Ugly. Back then, the Specials were a sinister rumour - frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, and breathtakingly fast. And now Tally s become one of them: a super-amped fighting machine, engineered to keep the Uglies down and the Pretties stupid. But one tiny corner of Tally s heart still remembers something different. When she is ordered to stamp out the rebels of the New Smoke, she is forced to make one last choice: carry out the mission she s been programmed to complete, or listen to that faint yet persistent heartbeat telling her that something s wrong. Seller Inventory # AA89780857079152

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Scott Westerfeld
Published by Simon Schuster Ltd, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon Schuster Ltd, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Re-issue. Language: English . Brand New Book. Special Circcumstances . the words have sent chills down Tally s spine since her days as a repellent, rebellious Ugly. Back then, the Specials were a sinister rumour - frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, and breathtakingly fast. And now Tally s become one of them: a super-amped fighting machine, engineered to keep the Uglies down and the Pretties stupid. But one tiny corner of Tally s heart still remembers something different. When she is ordered to stamp out the rebels of the New Smoke, she is forced to make one last choice: carry out the mission she s been programmed to complete, or listen to that faint yet persistent heartbeat telling her that something s wrong. Seller Inventory # AA89780857079152

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

SCOTT WESTERFELD
Published by Simon & Schuster India
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookVistas
(New Delhi, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster India. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # S&S-9780857079152

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.94
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Scott Westerfeld
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Bookstore99
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: NEW. Brand New, Same ISBN and details as listed. Delivery within 3-7 business days. We may ship the books from multiple location across the globe including Asia depending upon the availability of inventory. Printed in English. Choose expedited shipping for Express delivery. Tracking number provided for every order. Seller Inventory # RO_9780857079152

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

SCOTT WESTERFELD
Published by Simon & Schuster India
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
A - Z Books
(New Delhi, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster India. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # S&S-9780857079152

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.18
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Scott Westerfeld
Published by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Childrens Books, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000551153

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.83
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Scott Westerfeld
Published by Simon & Schuster Ltd (2012)
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Ltd, 2012. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # EH9780857079152

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.70
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Scott Westerfeld
Published by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Childrens Books, 2012. Condition: New. 2012. UK ed. Paperback. Time for the final choice. The gripping conclusion to Scott Westerfeld's riveting and chilling, highly acclaimed trilogy. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: YFB. Category: (J) Children / Juvenile. Dimension: 199 x 133 x 24. Weight in Grams: 270. . . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780857079152

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Scott Westerfeld
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0857079158. Seller Inventory # ST0857079158

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Scott Westerfeld
Published by Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN 10: 0857079158 ISBN 13: 9780857079152
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Ltd. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780857079152

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book