Laszlo Kraznahorki Satantango

ISBN 13: 9780857896179

Satantango

4.11 avg rating
( 3,228 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780857896179: Satantango
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"Satantango" is the masterpiece of post-war Hungarian literature, now available for the first time in English. In the darkening embers of a Communist utopia, life in a desolate Hungarian town has come to a virtual standstill. Flies buzz, spiders weave, water drips and animals root desultorily in the barnyard of a collective farm. But when the charismatic Irimias - long-thought dead - returns to the commune, the villagers fall under his spell. The Devil has arrived in their midst. Irimias will divide and rule: his arrival heralds the beginning of a period of violence and greed for the villagers as he sets about swindling them out of a fortune that might allow them to escape the emptiness and futility of their existence. He soon attains a messianic aura as he plays on the fears of the townsfolk and a series of increasingly brutal events unfold. "Satantango" follows the villagers as they are exploited and taken in by Irimias; as they drink and stumble their way toward the gradual realization of their mistake and ultimate demise. In its measured prose and long, Tolstoyan sentences, "Satantango" is nothing short of a literary masterpiece; a formal meditation on death and avarice, human fallibility and faith. It is suitable for readers of Samuel Beckett, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Sandor Marai, Joseph Roth, Madga Szabo, Roberto Bolano, Milan Kundera, Patrick Suskind, W. G. Sebald, Elif Batuman, and Gunter Grass.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Laszlo Krasznahorkai is a Hungarian writer born in 1954. Krasznahorkai has been honoured with numerous literary prizes, among them the highest award of the Hungarian state, the Kossuth Prize and, in 1993, the German Bestenliste Prize for the best literary work of the year.

Review:

"* "A masterpiece of modern European literature. Brilliant, unforgiving, gripping. Essential reading for anyone wishing to comprehend the dark heart of the 20th century." - Alex Preston, author of This Bleeding City * 'I fell in love with the fierce, barbed intelligence in his sentences... Krasznahorkai is the kind of writer who at least once on every page finds a way of expressing something one has always sensed but never known, let alone been able to describe.' - Nicole Krauss * 'Like something far down the periodic table of elements, Krasznahorkai's sentences are strange, elusive, frighteningly radioactive. They seek to replicate the entropic whirl of consciousness itself... Haunting, pleasantly weird and, ultimately, bigger than the worlds they inhabit.' - Jacob Silverman, New York Times Book Review"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used View Book
List Price: US$ 29.00
US$ 6.58

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 6.28
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780811220897: Satantango

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0811220893 ISBN 13:  9780811220897
Publisher: New Directions, 2013
Softcover

9781848877658: Satantango

Atlant..., 2001
Softcover

9780811217347: Satantango

New Di..., 2012
Hardcover

9781848877641: Satantango

Atlantic, 2012
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Laszlo Krasznahorkai
Published by Tuskar Rock (2012)
ISBN 10: 0857896172 ISBN 13: 9780857896179
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
MusicMagpie
(Stockport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tuskar Rock, 2012. Condition: Very Good. Seller Inventory # U9780857896179

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.28
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Kraznahorki, Laszlo
Published by Canongate Books
ISBN 10: 0857896172 ISBN 13: 9780857896179
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(AURORA, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Canongate Books. Paperback. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0857896172I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 29.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Laszlo Kraznahorki
Published by Canongate Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0857896172 ISBN 13: 9780857896179
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Canongate Books, 2012. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 0857896172-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 56.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds