Laszlo Kraznahorki Satantango

ISBN 13: 9780857896179

Satantango

4.15 avg rating
( 2,108 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780857896179: Satantango

"Satantango" is the masterpiece of post-war Hungarian literature, now available for the first time in English. In the darkening embers of a Communist utopia, life in a desolate Hungarian town has come to a virtual standstill. Flies buzz, spiders weave, water drips and animals root desultorily in the barnyard of a collective farm. But when the charismatic Irimias - long-thought dead - returns to the commune, the villagers fall under his spell. The Devil has arrived in their midst. Irimias will divide and rule: his arrival heralds the beginning of a period of violence and greed for the villagers as he sets about swindling them out of a fortune that might allow them to escape the emptiness and futility of their existence. He soon attains a messianic aura as he plays on the fears of the townsfolk and a series of increasingly brutal events unfold. "Satantango" follows the villagers as they are exploited and taken in by Irimias; as they drink and stumble their way toward the gradual realization of their mistake and ultimate demise. In its measured prose and long, Tolstoyan sentences, "Satantango" is nothing short of a literary masterpiece; a formal meditation on death and avarice, human fallibility and faith. It is suitable for readers of Samuel Beckett, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Sandor Marai, Joseph Roth, Madga Szabo, Roberto Bolano, Milan Kundera, Patrick Suskind, W. G. Sebald, Elif Batuman, and Gunter Grass.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Laszlo Krasznahorkai is a Hungarian writer born in 1954. Krasznahorkai has been honoured with numerous literary prizes, among them the highest award of the Hungarian state, the Kossuth Prize and, in 1993, the German Bestenliste Prize for the best literary work of the year.

Review:

"* "A masterpiece of modern European literature. Brilliant, unforgiving, gripping. Essential reading for anyone wishing to comprehend the dark heart of the 20th century." - Alex Preston, author of This Bleeding City * 'I fell in love with the fierce, barbed intelligence in his sentences... Krasznahorkai is the kind of writer who at least once on every page finds a way of expressing something one has always sensed but never known, let alone been able to describe.' - Nicole Krauss * 'Like something far down the periodic table of elements, Krasznahorkai's sentences are strange, elusive, frighteningly radioactive. They seek to replicate the entropic whirl of consciousness itself... Haunting, pleasantly weird and, ultimately, bigger than the worlds they inhabit.' - Jacob Silverman, New York Times Book Review"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used View Book
List Price: US$ 29.00
US$ 4.67

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 3.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Laszlo Krasznahorkai
Published by Tuskar Rock (2012)
ISBN 10: 0857896172 ISBN 13: 9780857896179
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revival Books Ltd
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tuskar Rock, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0006620445

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kraznahorki, Laszlo
Published by Canongate Books
ISBN 10: 0857896172 ISBN 13: 9780857896179
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
INSIGNIA BOOKS
(doncaster, SY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Canongate Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Very Good. 0857896172. Bookseller Inventory # CCC0008090

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.57
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds