Honore de Balzac Droll Stories

ISBN 13: 9780871409843

Droll Stories

3.71 avg rating
( 324 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780871409843: Droll Stories

"Who does not love the warm attack of life . . . when it flows thus round the heart and engulfs everything?"

None know this better than the good old Canon of Notre Dame. Coming to Paris naked as a dagger, he soon proves a favorite confessor to the ladies. Then a high-born beauty awards him a prize: the relic of a Saint . . . a bone, the ladies say, that will cure anything!

Already famous for his novels, in the 1830s Honoré Balzac undertook a series of tales as full of human understanding as of dalliance and lusty conniving: the rowdy, Rabelasian Droll Stories.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Balzac's Contes Drolatiques, published in three installments in the 1830s, offers a lively and lusty portrait of sixteenth-century French life and manners. These thirty stories in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais were claimed by the author to have originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Abounding in episodes of good-humored licentiousness, the tales scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers.
French novelist and playwright Honoré de Balzac (1799–1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works that were hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail. This edition's excellent translation was the first to make Contes Drolatiques available to English-speaking readers.
Dover (2014) republication of a standard edition.
See every Dover book in print at
www.doverpublications.com

About the Author:

Honoré de Balzac (1799 - 1850) was a French novelist and playwright. The novel sequence La Comédie Humaine, which presents a panorama of post-Napoleonic French life, is generally viewed as his magnum opus. Owing to his keen observation of detail and unfiltered representation of society, Balzac is regarded as one of the founders of realism in European literature. He is renowned for his multi-faceted characters; even his lesser characters are complex, morally ambiguous and fully human. Inanimate objects are imbued with character as well; the city of Paris, a backdrop for much of his writing, takes on many human qualities. His writing influenced many famous writers, including the novelists Émile Zola, Charles Dickens, Gustave Flaubert, Jack Kerouac, Akira Kurosawa and Henry James, as well as important philosophers such as Friedrich Engels. Many of Balzac's works have been made into films and they continue to inspire other writers.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Balzac, Honore de
Published by The Bibliophilist Society.
ISBN 10: 0871409844 ISBN 13: 9780871409843
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Joslu Enterprises
(Cypress, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Bibliophilist Society. cover extremity wear. text clean, hinges firm but starting. black cloth, gilt spine lettering and decorations. Illustrated by Gustave Dore illustrations. Bookseller Inventory # 009409

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

de Balzac, Honore
Published by The Modern Library, nd, ncrd,
ISBN 10: 0871409844 ISBN 13: 9780871409843
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Store
(W Bridgewater, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Modern Library, nd, ncrd, blind-stamped, gilt decorated cloth, vg w/chipped dj (small piece gone), 553 pps, 12mo, 'The author of the Comedie Humaine spreads a feast for readers of robust appetite. The fare he offers is rich in fla. Bookseller Inventory # 20561

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Balzac, Honore de
Published by Bibliopholist Society (1948)
ISBN 10: 0871409844 ISBN 13: 9780871409843
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Antheil Booksellers
(No. Bellmore, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bibliopholist Society, 1948. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. 651pp. Ill. by Gustave Dore. Hinges starting to crack, else a good copy. Pub. date is approximate. Bookseller Inventory # lzol511042

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

De Balzac, Honore
Published by Modern Library no date, New York NY
ISBN 10: 0871409844 ISBN 13: 9780871409843
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Gibson's Books
(Owens Cross Roads, AL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Modern Library no date, New York NY. Hardcover. Very Good with no dust jacket; Burn mark on cover, wear along edges. Bookseller Inventory # 5976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

de Balzac, Honore
Published by Heritage Club
ISBN 10: 0871409844 ISBN 13: 9780871409843
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Frank Hofmann
(Yorba Linda, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Heritage Club. 1939 full cloth binding. Binding near fine. Former owner's name on fly leaf, interior otherwise spotless. No Dj and no slipcase, but a handsome copy nonetheless. Bookseller Inventory # 3733

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Balzac
ISBN 10: 0871409844 ISBN 13: 9780871409843
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description London: Privately Printed nd (First English edition per Translator's Preface dated January, 1874). Green cloth boards w/ paper title on spine head, 486 pgs. w/ fading red teg, uncut on fore edge and bottom. Forty-eight full-page illustrations by A. Robida. Spine cocked, w/ edge wear including wear-through at the tips of the corners, crease of back board, crack at front hinge. Bookseller Inventory # u2807

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 23.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Honore de Balzac
Published by W W Norton & Co Inc (1928)
ISBN 10: 0871409844 ISBN 13: 9780871409843
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W W Norton & Co Inc, 1928. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0871409844

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 23.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds