License To Steal: Nevada'S Gaming Control System In The Megaresort Age (Gambling Studies Series)

3 avg rating
( 6 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780874176247: License To Steal: Nevada'S Gaming Control System In The Megaresort Age (Gambling Studies Series)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Seven precedent-setting case studies taken from the files of the Nevada Gaming Control Board illustrate vital issues addressed in the first decade of the megaresorts.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jeff Burbank is an award-winning journalist who has covered the casino industry in Las Vegas for national and local publications, radio, and TV. He is currently an instructor in the English Department at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Review:

"It's a fascinating book. Rich in story and the kind of historic detail one hears from casino professionals at the end of a long night. In using the state's gaming control institutions to tell the story of Las Vegas, however, Jeff Burbank gets the truth, and from the sources and people who can document what happend. For fans of Las Vegas, and I am one, start reading and you can't stop."

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780874173390: License to Steal : Nevada's Gaming Control System in the Megaresort Age

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0874173396 ISBN 13:  9780874173390
Publisher: University of Nevada Press, 2000
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Burbank, Jeff
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2005. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # TX-9780874176247

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

JEFF BURBANK
Published by Univ Nevada Press
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Univ Nevada Press. Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Bookshop in business since 1992!. Seller Inventory # 2259286

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jeff Burbank
Published by University of Chicago press
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Chicago press. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0874176247

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jeff Burbank
Published by University of Nevada Press, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Nevada Press, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Revised. Language: English . Brand New Book. These seven precedent-setting case studies taken from the files of the Nevada Gaming Control Board and Commission illustrate vital issues addressed in the first decade of Las Vegas megaresorts. Seller Inventory # AAN9780874176247

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Burbank, Jeff.
Published by University of Nevada Press, Reno (2000)
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Ad Infinitum Books
(Mount Vernon, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Nevada Press, Reno, 2000. Softcover. Condition: New. 288 pages. Softcover. New book. GAMBLING. These seven precedent-setting case studies taken from the files of the Nevada Gaming Control Board and Commission illustrate vital issues addressed in the first decade of Las Vegas' megaresorts. Jeff Burbank is an award-winning journalist who has covered the casino industry in Las Vegas for national and local publications, radio, and TV. He is currently an instructor in the English Department at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. "It's a fascinating book. Rich in story and the kind of historic detail one hears from casino professionals at the end of a long night. In using the state's gaming control institutions to tell the story of Las Vegas, however, Jeff Burbank gets the truth and from the sources and people who can document what happened. For fans of Las Vegas, and I am one, start reading and you can't stop." -Nicholas Pileggi, author of Casino and Wise Guy "License to Steal is the first ever, detailed examination of the regulation, and occasional non-regulation, of licensed gambling in Nevada. Jeff Burbank looks at the world with the eye of an experienced journalist: he presents concrete facts, not speculation or opinions. A good thing, because many of the stories he relates would be rejected as completely implausible if presented as fiction: the forger who did not know how to spell the name of his life-long friend, or the casino owner who threw parties with swastika-covered birthday cakes on Hitler's birthday. Burbank's straight presentation of the facts behind the ruling paints a complete picture of how the system really works." ÑI. Nelson Rose, author of Gambling and the Law (Key Words: Jeff Burbank, Regulation & Non- Regulation Of Licensed Gambling In Nevada). book. Seller Inventory # 84394X1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jeff Burbank
Published by University of Nevada Press, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Nevada Press, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Revised. Language: English . Brand New Book. These seven precedent-setting case studies taken from the files of the Nevada Gaming Control Board and Commission illustrate vital issues addressed in the first decade of Las Vegas megaresorts. Seller Inventory # AAN9780874176247

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jeff Burbank
Published by University of Nevada Press, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Nevada Press, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Revised. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. These seven precedent-setting case studies taken from the files of the Nevada Gaming Control Board and Commission illustrate vital issues addressed in the first decade of Las Vegas megaresorts. Seller Inventory # BTE9780874176247

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 29.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jeff Burbank
Published by University of Nevada Press
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Nevada Press. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780874176247

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jeff Burbank
Published by University of Nevada Press (2005)
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Nevada Press, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0874176247

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 29.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jeff Burbank
Published by University of Nevada Press (2005)
ISBN 10: 0874176247 ISBN 13: 9780874176247
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Nevada Press, 2005. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0874176247

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 37.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book