Heaven in a Wild Flower: Spiritual Reflections

5 avg rating
( 1 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780877853923: Heaven in a Wild Flower: Spiritual Reflections

In the tradition of Celia Thaxter, Vera Glenn shares what the joy of growing things can mean in a woman's life. The book's title, taken from William Blake, "To see a world in a grain of sand / And Heaven in a Wild Flower," refers to the sacred peace, love, and wisdom of tending a garden.

Bringing alive the wildflower garden she has nurtured for twenty years in vivid botanical detail, Glenn reflects on what the patterns and processes of nature can teach us about ourselves. She enriches her charming persona stories with wisdom from famous nature lovers, writers, and horticulturalists.

The book begins and ends with winter, when the garden is at the ready, waiting for the "forced that through the green fuse drives the flower," in Dylan Thomas's words. Each season brings new flowers and new anecdotal observation about the people who feed Glenn's hunger and propagate and cultivate. Throughout the cycles of her gardening year, Glenn finds spiritual correspondences. The hot, hard work of summer weeding is like "pulling out that nasty thought about my neighbor, nurturing and feeding that tender affection . . . and all the time thanking God."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Vera Glenn grew up on an apple orchard in semi-rural Bryn Athyn, Pennsylvania. When she married, she moved less than half a mile up the road to her present home. There she raised two children, tended her garden, and taught English and literature. Now retired, she contiues to garden and travel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Vera P. Glenn
Published by Chrysalis Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0877853924 ISBN 13: 9780877853923
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Bookmonger.Ltd
(HILLSIDE, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chrysalis Books, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000410298

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Vera P Glenn
Published by Chrysalis Books (Swedenborg Foundation) 2007-09-05 (2007)
ISBN 10: 0877853924 ISBN 13: 9780877853923
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hay-on-Wye Booksellers
(Hay-on-Wye, HEREF, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chrysalis Books (Swedenborg Foundation) 2007-09-05, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 122693-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Vera P. Glenn
Published by Chrysalis Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0877853924 ISBN 13: 9780877853923
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chrysalis Books, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Alice Hyvonen (illustrator). book. Bookseller Inventory # M0877853924

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Vera P. Glenn
Published by Chrysalis Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0877853924 ISBN 13: 9780877853923
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chrysalis Books, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110877853924

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds