Philip Lee Williams Emerson's Brother

ISBN 13: 9780881462746

Emerson's Brother

5 avg rating
( 1 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780881462746: Emerson's Brother
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Few people know that Ralph Waldo Emerson had a mentally challenged brother. Now, in a deeply moving novel in letters, noted writer Philip Lee Williams imagines the last year of this brother's sad but transcendent life as he lives with a farm family in Massachusetts. Emerson's Brother shows how this brother, Bulkeley, deals in his own way with many of the themes Waldo did, including nature, self-reliance, and love. Writing letters to his brother and friends such as Henry David Thoreau, Bulkeley Emerson aches with the need to express himself, trapped as he is in the prison of his own genetics. Though Bulkeley's journey toward the end of his life can be agonizing and filled with unfilled longing, there is a quiet acceptance, too, as he nears his time to become part of nature itself.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Philip Lee Williams is the much honored author of sixteen published books, including three non-fiction works and two volumes of poetry. He won the 2004 Michael Shaara Prize for A Distant Flame, and in addition to a Governor s Award in the Humanities, is a member of the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame. In 2011, his The Flower Seeker: An Epic Poem of William Bartram won the Books & Culture Book of the Year Award. He lives with his family in Oconee County, Georgia.

Review:

This fascinating novel about the least-known Emerson brother brings to life the Transcendental currents of the time and shows how hard it was, for all the Emersons, to live up to the expectations of their forefathers. Fans of Henry Thoreau and Waldo Emerson, as well as anyone with a brother, will find this novel an emotional recreation of an important period and place in our history. --Review By: Joel Myerson, Carolina Distinguished Professor of American Literature, Emeritus, University of South Carolina and co-author of The Emerson Brothers: A Fraternal Biography in Letters - September 30, 2011

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Williams, Philip Lee
Published by Mercer Univ Press
ISBN 10: 0881462748 ISBN 13: 9780881462746
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mercer Univ Press. Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Bookshop in business since 1992!. Seller Inventory # 1725664

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 21.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Philip Lee Williams
Published by Mercer University Press, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0881462748 ISBN 13: 9780881462746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mercer University Press, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Few people know that Ralph Waldo Emerson had a mentally challenged brother. Now, in a deeply moving novel in letters, noted writer Philip Lee Williams imagines the last year of this brother s sad but transcendent life as he lives with a farm family in Massachusetts. Emerson s Brother shows how this brother, Bulkeley, deals in his own way with many of the themes Waldo did, including nature, self-reliance, and love. Writing letters to his brother and friends such as Henry David Thoreau, Bulkeley Emerson aches with the need to express himself, trapped as he is in the prison of his own genetics. Though Bulkeley s journey toward the end of his life can be agonizing and filled with unfilled longing, there is a quiet acceptance, too, as he nears his time to become part of nature itself. Seller Inventory # AAN9780881462746

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 23.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Philip Lee Williams
Published by Mercer University Press, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0881462748 ISBN 13: 9780881462746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mercer University Press, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Few people know that Ralph Waldo Emerson had a mentally challenged brother. Now, in a deeply moving novel in letters, noted writer Philip Lee Williams imagines the last year of this brother s sad but transcendent life as he lives with a farm family in Massachusetts. Emerson s Brother shows how this brother, Bulkeley, deals in his own way with many of the themes Waldo did, including nature, self-reliance, and love. Writing letters to his brother and friends such as Henry David Thoreau, Bulkeley Emerson aches with the need to express himself, trapped as he is in the prison of his own genetics. Though Bulkeley s journey toward the end of his life can be agonizing and filled with unfilled longing, there is a quiet acceptance, too, as he nears his time to become part of nature itself. Seller Inventory # AAN9780881462746

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 24.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Philip Lee Williams
Published by Mercer University Press
ISBN 10: 0881462748 ISBN 13: 9780881462746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mercer University Press. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780881462746

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 20.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.60
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Philip Lee Williams
Published by Mercer University Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0881462748 ISBN 13: 9780881462746
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mercer University Press, 2012. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # CE-9780881462746

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 19.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.44
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Philip Lee Williams
Published by Mercer University Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0881462748 ISBN 13: 9780881462746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mercer University Press, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0881462748

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 35.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Philip Lee Williams
Published by Mercer University Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0881462748 ISBN 13: 9780881462746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mercer University Press, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0881462748

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 32.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Williams, Phlip Lee
Published by Mercer Univ Pr (2012)
ISBN 10: 0881462748 ISBN 13: 9780881462746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mercer Univ Pr, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 224 pages. 8.60x5.70x0.80 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0881462748

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 28.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Philip Lee Williams
Published by Mercer University Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0881462748 ISBN 13: 9780881462746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mercer University Press, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110881462748

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 51.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds