Outside the Dream: Child Poverty in America

3.5 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780893814755: Outside the Dream: Child Poverty in America
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Depicts the dangers children face from poverty, drugs, and violence

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

Just as Walker Evans photographs helped America see the poverty of Appalachia, the vivid images in Outside the Dream will open our hearts to the deprivation that today afflicts not a region, but an entire generation. --Senator Bill Bradley

Stephen Shames is a tremendous asset to the disadvantaged children of this nation....His photographs have helped bring the plight of poor children to the mainstream public. --Marian Wright Edelman

Outside the Dream is an important work that forces us to look at the face of child poverty and ask ourselves, How can we let this happen? How can we see the children in this book and continue to ignore their suffering and call ourselves a moral people? --Harry Belafonte

Outside the Dream is often disturbing, sometimes hopeful, but always deeply moving.--Senator Edward Kennedy

Outside the Dream is the latest milepost in Steve Shames perilous journey of sharing the life of the endangered young. His work is in the tradition of Jacob Riis, Lewis W. Hine, Dorothea Lange, and Gene Richards. --Cornell Capa, Founding Director, International Center of Photography

About the Author:

Stephen Shames creates award winning photo essays on social issues for publications, books, foundations, advocacy organizations, and art museums such as Newsweek, Esquire, US News, Time; Aperture; The Ford, Robert Wood Johnson, Mott, and Casey Foundations; Childrens Defense Fund, Family Resource Coalition of America, Inner City Hope; International Center of Photography, The Corcoran Gallery of Art, and Museum of Photographic Arts.

Steve was a profiled artist in Esquire and on CBS Sunday Morning. He testified about child poverty to the United States Senate; was featured speaker at American Bar Association and Childrens Defense Fund national conferences. documentaries, and web sites.

Steves images have been exhibited at and are in the permanent collections of the International Center of Photography, Museum of Photographic Arts, and Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. He has received awards from Kodak Crystal Eagle for Impact in Photojournalism, World Hunger Year, Leica, International Center of Photography, and Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Foundation.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780893814687: Outside the Dream: Child Poverty in America

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0893814687 ISBN 13:  9780893814687
Publisher: Aperture, 1991
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Shames, Stephen
Published by Aperture (1991)
ISBN 10: 089381475X ISBN 13: 9780893814755
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Aperture, 1991. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11089381475X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 141.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Stephen Shames
Published by Aperture (1991)
ISBN 10: 089381475X ISBN 13: 9780893814755
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Aperture, 1991. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M089381475X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 183.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds