John W. Campbell Who Goes There

ISBN 13: 9780899667348

Who Goes There

3.87 avg rating
( 929 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780899667348: Who Goes There
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The tie-in to the upcoming blockbuster prequel to John Carpenter's THE THING - the never before told story of the original doomed Norwegian expedition. When a group of scientific researchers, isolated in Antarctica, stumble across an alien spaceship buried in the ice it seems like an incredible opportunity. The alien pilot can just be seen - a shadowy figure frozen just a short depth into the ice. It looks as though he survived the crash only to be flash-frozen on the Antarctic plateau. The team fight the frozen conditions to free the ship from the ice - with disastrous consequences - and rescue the alien. As they transport the corpse, one of their greatest finds, out on the ice back to their camp, several scientists begin to experience extraordinary, vivid and unsettling dreams. They're dismissed as the product of stress and the harsh conditions ...but the nightmare is only beginning.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

This edition features William F. Nolan's ("Logan's Run", "Burnt Offerings") never-before-published SCREEN TREATMENT of "Who Goes There?" (THE THING), written for Universal Studios in 1978, a scary, suspenseful, cinematic take on Campbell's story. Nolan also penned the Introduction, discussing Campbell's importance to the SF genre and Nolan's personal involvement with the story.

From the Back Cover:

"The most powerful force in science fiction ever." - Isaac Asimov

John Wood Campbell, Jr. (June 8, 1910 - July 11, 1971) remains a towering figure in science fiction. His influence, first as a writer, later as editor of Astounding Science Fiction (Analog) transformed the field, shaping the golden age of science fiction and producing SF legends, Robert A. Heinlein, A. E. van Vogt, Theodore Sturgeon and Isaac Asimov.

WHO GOES THERE? is best known to science fiction and horror film fans as THE THING because it is the story that formed the basis of Howard Hawks' THE THING FROM ANOTHER WORLD (1951) and John Carpenter's THE THING (1982). But to ardent readers of SF literature, it is the legendary SF-suspense classic penned by none other than John W. Campbell. With its vivid ensemble of characters, forbidding antarctic setting, and an unforgettably original creature at the center of all the action, the story well deserves its legendary status; it was voted "one of the finest science fiction novellas ever written" by the Science Fiction Writers of America. This all-new edition features an Introduction by William F. Nolan (Logan's Run, Burnt Offerings), and includes his never-before-published Screen Treatment of the story. Written for Universal Studios in 1978, Nolan's scary, suspenseful, cinematic take on Who Goes There? truly makes this a must-have edition for fans of Campbell and THE THING motion pictures.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780982332207: Who Goes There?: The Novella That Formed the Basis of the Thing

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0982332203 ISBN 13:  9780982332207
Publisher: Rocket Ride Books, 2009
Softcover

9780575091030: Who Goes There?

Gollancz, 2011
Softcover

9780848822255: Who Goes There

Amereo..., 2000
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Campbell, John W., Jr.
Published by Buccaneer Books, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0899667341 ISBN 13: 9780899667348
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Blue Cloud
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Buccaneer Books, Incorporated. Hardcover. Condition: Fair. A readable copy. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. Pages can include considerable notes-in pen or highlighter-but the notes cannot obscure the text. The dust jacket is missing. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0899667341I5N01

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 73.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John W. Campbell
Published by Buccaneer Books 1991-06-01 (1991)
ISBN 10: 0899667341 ISBN 13: 9780899667348
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Lost Books
(AUSTIN, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Buccaneer Books 1991-06-01, 1991. Hardcover. Condition: good. 0899667341. Seller Inventory # 691204

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 118.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John W. Campbell
Published by Buccaneer Books (1991)
ISBN 10: 0899667341 ISBN 13: 9780899667348
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Buccaneer Books, 1991. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Seller Inventory # P020899667341

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 195.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John W. Campbell
Published by Buccaneer Books (1991)
ISBN 10: 0899667341 ISBN 13: 9780899667348
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Buccaneer Books, 1991. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Second Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. May be ex-library. Shipping & Handling by region. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0899667341

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 250.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds