Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism

4.29 avg rating
( 126 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780902308640: Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Walter Benjamin, one of the foremost cultural ommentators and theorists of the 20th century, is perhaps best known for his analyses of art in the modern age and the philosophy of history. Yet, it was through his study of the social and cultural history of late-19th-century Paris, examined particularly in relation to the figure of the great Parisian lyric poet Charles Baudelaire, that Benjamin tested and enriched some of his core concepts and themes. Contained within these pages are, among other insights, his notion of the "flaneur", his theory of memory and remembrance, his assessment of the utopian Fourier and his reading of the modernist movement. First translated in English in 1973, this is a study of the French lyric poet Charles Baudelaire. It should be useful as a text for readers of both Benjamin and Baudelaire, and for students of French literature. Walter Benjamin is the author of "One-Way Street", "The Origins of German Tagic Drama" and "Understanding Brecht".

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Language Notes:

Text: English, German (translation)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9782228339902: Charles Baudelaire, un poete lyrique a l'apogee du capitalisme

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  2228339903 ISBN 13:  9782228339902
Publisher: Editions Payot, 1982
Softcover

9780902308947: Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism

Verso ..., 1977
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Benjamin, Walter
Published by New Left Books (1973)
ISBN 10: 0902308645 ISBN 13: 9780902308640
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Left Books, 1973. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110902308645

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 302.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds