My Life in Heaven (FIELD Poetry Series)

4.5 avg rating
( 16 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780932440266: My Life in Heaven (FIELD Poetry Series)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

My Life in Heaven, the 2012 FIELD Poetry Prize winner, is “striking in its subtlety, complexity, and utterly distinctive voice,” according to the prize judges David Young and David Walker. These moment-to-moment explorations of intimacy’s intricacies use the power of the poetic line to illuminate the relationship of self to the beloved, nature, and the divine. This is a book of love poems, romancing the line between self and other.

My Life in Heaven will stun readers who admire the best of contemporary American poetry in the vein of Donald Revell, Brenda Hillman, Charles Wright, and Jean Valentine. Samyn’s poems sing with the elusive fire of Emily Dickinson.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

MARY ANN SAMYN is the author of four previous full-length collections of poems: Captivity Narrative, Inside the Yellow Dress, Purr, and Beauty Breaks In. Her awards include a Pushcart Prize, the Emily Dickinson Prize from the Poetry Society of America, and the James Wright Poetry Award from Mid-American Review. She is the Bolton Professor for Teaching and Mentoring at West Virginia University, where she teaches in the MFA Program in Creative Writing.

Review:

“ ‘What does it mean to be alive?’ Samyn asks in My Life in Heaven. ‘We’ll know when we’re ready,’ the poem answers. Private but not claustral, personal but not narrative, Samyn’s achievement is as purposeful and deliberate as the need to survive the end of thing. Observation, insight, tenderness, and humor accompany the poet and her readers from heartbreak-unto-death to afterlife-on-earth in this book. I rejoice in its misery, its finery, its charm, and its wisdom." (Kathy Fagan)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Samyn, Mary Ann
ISBN 10: 0932440266 ISBN 13: 9780932440266
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 19349211-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Mary Ann Samyn
Published by Oberlin College Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0932440266 ISBN 13: 9780932440266
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oberlin College Press, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. My Life in Heaven, the 2012 FIELD Poetry Prize winner, is striking in its subtlety, complexity, and utterly distinctive voice, according to the prize judges David Young and David Walker. These moment-to-moment explorations of intimacy s intricacies use the power of the poetic line to illuminate the relationship of self to the beloved, nature, and the divine. This is a book of love poems, romancing the line between self and other. My Life in Heaven will stun readers who admire the best of contemporary American poetry in the vein of Donald Revell, Brenda Hillman, Charles Wright, and Jean Valentine. Samyn s poems sing with the elusive fire of Emily Dickinson. Seller Inventory # AAS9780932440266

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Mary Ann Samyn
Published by Oberlin College Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0932440266 ISBN 13: 9780932440266
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oberlin College Press, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. My Life in Heaven, the 2012 FIELD Poetry Prize winner, is striking in its subtlety, complexity, and utterly distinctive voice, according to the prize judges David Young and David Walker. These moment-to-moment explorations of intimacy s intricacies use the power of the poetic line to illuminate the relationship of self to the beloved, nature, and the divine. This is a book of love poems, romancing the line between self and other. My Life in Heaven will stun readers who admire the best of contemporary American poetry in the vein of Donald Revell, Brenda Hillman, Charles Wright, and Jean Valentine. Samyn s poems sing with the elusive fire of Emily Dickinson. Seller Inventory # AAS9780932440266

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Mary Ann Samyn
Published by Oberlin College Press
ISBN 10: 0932440266 ISBN 13: 9780932440266
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oberlin College Press. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780932440266

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.14
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Samyn, Mary Ann
Published by Oberlin College Press
ISBN 10: 0932440266 ISBN 13: 9780932440266
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oberlin College Press. Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover - These poems attend to the intricacies of intimacyŚwith the self, the beloved, the natural world, the divine A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Seller Inventory # 2813795

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Samyn, Mary Ann
Published by Oberlin College Pr (2013)
ISBN 10: 0932440266 ISBN 13: 9780932440266
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oberlin College Pr, 2013. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 96 pages. 8.43x5.85x0.73 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # z-0932440266

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Mary Ann Samyn
ISBN 10: 0932440266 ISBN 13: 9780932440266
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. These poems attend to the intricacies of intimacy--with the self, the beloved, the natural world, the divineShipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 93 pages. 0.168. Seller Inventory # 9780932440266

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Mary Ann Samyn
Published by Oberlin College Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 0932440266 ISBN 13: 9780932440266
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oberlin College Press, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0932440266n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 102.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds