J. Wurfbain The Education of Nagomo

ISBN 13: 9780940143302

The Education of Nagomo

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780940143302: The Education of Nagomo
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A children's book which touches on environmental issues through the experiences of Nagomo. Beautifully illustrated, this book is sure to please children and adults alike.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

A fable for our time in the tradition of Aesop, La Fontaine, and Kipling. This beautifully illustrated children's book focuses on the "hot" environmental issues of today. Through the techniques of magic and imagery, this story in fable form teaches children about the thorny problems currently facing animals and humans. Its purpose is to give children insight into such ideas as conservation, habitat destruction, overpopulation, poaching, and extinction, by looking at certain endangered animals, including the rhino, elephant, addax, cheetah, and gorilla. The story is projected through the eyes of an eight-year-old native boy from Zaire and his magical friend and mentor, the Patron Wizard of the animals of Africa. Guaranteed to delight young and old alike. Foreword by Michael Dee, curator of the Los Angeles Zoo. Recommended for ages seven through adult.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 2-5-- There is a need to inform children about the serious environmental issues facing the world today, and the most effective means is to provide good, balanced, factual information such as Margery Facklam's And Then There Was One: Mysteries of Extinction (Little, 1990). No matter how worthy its message, this book just falls flat. Nagomo, a young boy living in Zaire, behaves unfeelingly toward animals until Kamanda, a wizard, appears and proceeds to whisk the boy off to visit vari ous endangered species--the cheetah, the addax, the elephant, the black rhino, the mountain gorilla. Through these personal encounters, Nagomo learns to appreciate the animals' plight, returning home a reformed child. The point of the book is well taken, but the story is contrived, predictable, and dull. The fantasy framework is inappropriate for the subject matter, and most young readers will sense that they're getting a lecture rather than a story. Also, the illustrations are uninspired and amateurish. --Phyllis G. Sidorsky, National Cathedral School, Washington, DC
Copyright 1991 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 14.95
US$ 34.48

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

J. Wurfbain
Published by Safari Press (1997)
ISBN 10: 0940143305 ISBN 13: 9780940143302
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Safari Press, 1997. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0940143305

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds