Travel Paul West Oxford Days

ISBN 13: 9780945167525

Oxford Days

3.29 avg rating
( 7 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780945167525: Oxford Days

The special ethos of Oxford University continues to take hold on award-winning author Paul West. Now a world-renowned writer and acclaimed literary stylist, West illuminates the reader regarding one of the oldest and most venerable universities in the world. Writing with an affectionate smile, West takes you beyond the classroom with vignettes and memories that made his Oxford experience unforgettable. His vivid descriptions and rhapsodic language are enhanced by the personality on show. Recreating the ambiance with infinite care-from the ancient scent of colleges to witty interpretations of the Oxford accent-Oxford Days is a literary treasure not only for Oxford alumni but also those who appreciate literature.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Paul West is the author of some twenty novels and a dozen works of nonfiction, most recently A Fifth of November, about the Gunpowder Plot of Guy Fawkes, and Master Class, a memoir of an MFA seminar. Paul West's awards include the Lannan Prize for Fiction, the Literature Prize of the American Academy, and the designation Chevalier of Arts and Letters from the Government of France. He studied at Oxford and Columbia, and in 2000 received the first Art-of-Fact Prize offered by the State University of New York. A symposium on his work will be held in France, in 2003, at the University of Tours.

From Publishers Weekly:

In his typically elegant prose, the prolific West (more than 30 critically acclaimed books, including novels Rat Man of Paris, Lord Byron's Doctor and nonfiction classics like Words for a Deaf Daughter) wryly and rather affectionately recalls his days at Oxford University. West's version of a memoir is a veritable feast for fans of his inimitable literary stylings, at once an artfully rendered distillation of the world's most eminent academic institution as only a writer of West's insight and literary prowess might create, as well as a lyric, often humorous recollection of the author's own emerging genius. West is as adept at rendering the physical Oxford from its architecture to its musty scents as he is in bequeathing its cultural and historic meaning, all the while keenly aware of his own unique place in Oxford's cultural, class and academic milieu. The result is an entertaining and occasionally enlightening read, from its dissection of the Oxford way of speaking ("Are you getting snobby?" West's mother was pressed to ask him after only eight weeks at the school) to its examination of the "cloistered amenity" of Oxford's culture. "At Oxford, whatever else you think you are doing, you are unwittingly absorbing something unique and choice," West recalls, "... providing you with indestructible inner resources in after-years." Although the book is likely limited in its appeal, for fans of West, and Oxford, it is a worthy addition to the canon.
Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Paul West
Published by British American Publishing (2002)
ISBN 10: 0945167520 ISBN 13: 9780945167525
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description British American Publishing, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0945167520

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Paul West
Published by British American Publishing (2004)
ISBN 10: 0945167520 ISBN 13: 9780945167525
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description British American Publishing, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0945167520

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

West, Paul
Published by British American Publishing (2004)
ISBN 10: 0945167520 ISBN 13: 9780945167525
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description British American Publishing, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110945167520

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 45.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Paul West
Published by British Amer Pub Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0945167520 ISBN 13: 9780945167525
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description British Amer Pub Ltd, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. first edition. edition. 272 pages. 9.00x6.25x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0945167520

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 44.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

West, Paul
Published by British American Publishing
ISBN 10: 0945167520 ISBN 13: 9780945167525
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description British American Publishing. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0945167520 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0527135

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds