Rudolph Wurlitzer The Drop Edge of Yonder

ISBN 13: 9780976389552

The Drop Edge of Yonder

3.79 avg rating
( 440 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780976389552: The Drop Edge of Yonder
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Time Out New York's #1 Best Book of 2008.

"[A] funny, inquisitive novel [that] asks readers to re-examine their ideas of the Western frontier and personal freedom." —Jeffrey Trachtenberg, Wall Street Journal

"May be the most hallucinogenic western you'll ever catch in the movie house of your mind's eye." —Erik Davis, Bookforum

"A picaresque American Book of the Dead... in the tradition of Thomas Pynchon, Joseph Heller, Kurt Vonnegut and Terry Southern." —David Ulin, Los Angeles Times Book Review

"Should be as well known as anything by Cormac McCarthy, Steve Erickson, or Jim Harrison." —Paul DiFilippo, Barnes & Noble Review

“Rudolph Wurlitzer takes no prisoners. An uncompromising, wild, and woolly tale.”—Sam Shepard

“Sam Beckett with a six-gun and a sack of rattlesnakes.”—Gary Indiana

"Where has Rudy Wurlitzer been for the last fifteen years? The mental traveler who gave us Nog and the Two-Lane Blacktop screenplay takes another vision quest, this time into the Old American West. His mapping of mythic and sacred landscapes and his ability to distinguish between different tribal world-views makes this a truly revealing conversation."—KCRW's Bookworm

In his fifth novel, Rudolph Wurlitzer has written a classic tale of the Western frontier and created one of his most memorable characters in Zebulon, a mountain man whose view of life has been challenged by a curse from a mysterious Native American woman whose lover he inadvertently murdered.

The Drop Edge of Yonder begins in the mountains of Colorado and ends in the far reaches of the Northwest, a journey that includes the beginnings of a Mexican revolution, a voyage across the Gulf of Mexico to Panama, and up the coast of California to San Francisco and the gold fields. Along the trail, Zebulon becomes involved in a series of tragic love triangles, witnesses the death of his mother and father, and confronts the age-old questions of life, love, and death.

Rudolph Wurlitzer is the author of the novels Nog, Flats, Quake, and Slow Fade, and the nonfiction book, Hard Travel to Sacred Places. Among his twelve produced screenplays are Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid, Two Lane Blacktop, Voyager, Walker, and Little Buddha.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Rudolph Wurlitzer is an acclaimed screenwriter and the author of The Drop Edge of Yonder, Quake, Flats, Slow Fade, and the nonfiction book, Hard Travel to Sacred Places.

From Publishers Weekly:

Starred Review. Known for 1969's Nog and the 1973 script for Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid, Wurlitzer delivers a mystic western possessed of anarchic charms and incantatory beauty. Mountain-man, trapper and opportunistic beast Zebulon Shook starts the tale by getting cursed by a half-Shoshoni half-Irish woman. Doomed never to know whether he is in the spirit world, the real world or just dreaming, he departs from his homestead along the Gila River in New Mexico to sell pelts. After meeting up with his adopted brother, Hatchet Jack, and losing at cards to Delilah, a beautiful Abyssinian courtesan, Zebulon is shot during a barroom dustup and sets out for California, where the gold rush is gathering steam, bringing with it the law and order that threatens the mountain doin's that he loves so dearly. Zebulon is pulled ever deeper into the era's bizarre historical footnotes: immortalized as a notorious outlaw by a reporter; narrowly missing joining the Walker expedition to colonize Nicaragua; reconnecting with Delilah at a San Francisco opium den; and finding the law and order forces dogging his heels to the last. This furiously told legend weaves history and myth into a riotous tale. (Apr.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781937512613: The Drop Edge of Yonder

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1937512614 ISBN 13:  9781937512613
Publisher: Two Dollar Radio, 2017
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wurlitzer, Rudolph
Published by Two Dollar Radio (2008)
ISBN 10: 097638955X ISBN 13: 9780976389552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Two Dollar Radio, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB097638955X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.07
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Wurlitzer, Rudolph
Published by Two Dollar Radio
ISBN 10: 097638955X ISBN 13: 9780976389552
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Two Dollar Radio. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 097638955X New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0907469

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Rudolph Wurlitzer
Published by Two Dollar Radio (2008)
ISBN 10: 097638955X ISBN 13: 9780976389552
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Two Dollar Radio, 2008. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M097638955X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 86.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Rudolph Wurlitzer
Published by Two Dollar Radio (2008)
ISBN 10: 097638955X ISBN 13: 9780976389552
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Two Dollar Radio, 2008. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # MB010EWW088

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 86.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Rudolph Wurlitzer
Published by Two Dollar Radio (2008)
ISBN 10: 097638955X ISBN 13: 9780976389552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Two Dollar Radio, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 097638955Xn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 167.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds