Diarmid Cammell Pirate & Hoopoe

ISBN 13: 9780978896607

Pirate & Hoopoe

 
9780978896607: Pirate & Hoopoe
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"Wall Street meets The Jungle Book" is how some people describe Pirate & Hoopoe. The talking animals of Spring Valley have lived in peace for centuries, but change is afoot when a rapacious band of land developers arrives to exploit this enchanted place. Through good sense, wits, and a bit of magic, the animals show the men how to discover life's true treasures. Following in the tradition of Treasure Island and Robinson Crusoe, Pirate & Hoopoe is a 21st-century adventure novel for readers of all ages. Winner of the Gold Medal Spirit Award for Imagination, Moonbeam Children's Book AwardsWinner of the Gold Medal for Print/Design Excellence, Visual Media AllianceWinner of the Grand Prize for General Excellence, Visual Media AllianceFinalist, Young Adult Fiction, USA Best Book Awards

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Diarmid Cammell (b.1945, d.2009) was a storyteller, mystic, acclaimed translator, and scholar. The youngest son of Scottish poet Charles Richard Cammell, he was a renowned actor as a child and an accomplished photographer as an adult. Following a youth in 1960s London, Diarmid spent his later life in and around the San Francisco Bay Area. Karima Cammell (b.1974) is a painter and book publisher. In 2001 she opened Castle in the Air, a celebrated shop, studio, classroom, and gallery which recognizes the internal life of the artist and all those who dare to live their dreams. Karima lives with her husband and two daughters in her native Berkeley, California.

Review:

"This is the most beautiful book of the year to come across my desk." -- Judith M. Gallman, Oakland Magazine

Winner of the Gold Medal Spirit Award for Imagination, Moonbeam Children's Book AwardsWinner of the Gold Medal for Print/Design Excellence, Visual Media AllianceWinner of the Grand Prize for General Excellence, Visual Media AllianceFinalist, Young Adult Fiction, USA Best Book Awards

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Diarmid Cammell
Published by Dromedary Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0978896602 ISBN 13: 9780978896607
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dromedary Press, 2012. Condition: New. Karima Cammell (illustrator). book. Seller Inventory # M0978896602

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 53.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Diarmid Cammell
Published by Dromedary Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0978896602 ISBN 13: 9780978896607
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dromedary Press, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0978896602n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 140.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds