The Musical Illusionist: and Other Tales (Hotel St. George)

3.94 avg rating
( 78 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780978910310: The Musical Illusionist: and Other Tales (Hotel St. George)

In the tradition of Borges and Calvino, The Musical Illusionist is an interwoven collection of postmodern folk tales disappearing manuscripts, neurological anomalies, teleporting bacteria, and an unforgettable composer who manipulates sound to bend perception that masterfully blends scientific curiosity with magical-realist caprice.

Alex Rose has published stories and essays for McSweeney’s, the North American Review, The Providence Journal, the Forward, The ScienceCreative Quarterly, and DIAGRAM. He has also directed a number of short films that have appeared on HBO, MTV, Comedy Central, Showtime, and the BBC.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Alex Rose has published stories and essays for McSweeney's, the North American Review, The Providence Journal, The Forward, Science-Creative Quarterly, and DIAGRAM. He has also directed a number of short films, videos, and animations, which have appeared on HBO, MTV, Comedy Central, ShowTime, and the BBC. The Musical Illusionist is his debut collection.

From Publishers Weekly:

Filmmaker Rose ranges widely in his fiction debut, drawing in everything from non-Euclidian geometry to dyasnimagnosis (a paranoid condition in which the subject will begin to believe that the world itself is a construction, that her surroundings are false, the buildings and trees merely set pieces—The Matrix, anyone?). Thus proceeds the Borgesian enterprise Rose calls the Library of Tangents, the short tales and mini-theories being what one supposedly finds there, with the title section being one of seven Special Exhibitions. In one piece, the inhabitants of the fifth island of Japan develop a musical language akin to Morse code; other entries feature an architect who designs a city without shadows, bioluminescent bacteria that create multicolored fog, and another rare psychological condition that causes its subjects to become deaf solely to the waltzes of Chopin. Other musical musings find Christian Doppler's studies in the physics of frequency driving kinetic symphonies, in which music arises from hidden and improbable sources. Rose's matter and manner recall Lawrence Weschler's Mr. Wilson's Cabinet of Wonder, but Rose has a distinct voice and take on arcana, fictitious and otherwise. (Oct.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alex Rose
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0978910311

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rose, Alex
Published by Hotel St. George Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hotel St. George Press, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0978910311

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rose, Alex
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2007. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # V7-9780978910310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Alex Rose
Published by Akashic Books,U.S., United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Akashic Books,U.S., United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Borges and Calvino, The Musical Illusionist is an interwoven collection of postmodern folk tales--disappearing manuscripts, neurological anomalies, teleporting bacteria, and an unforgettable composer who manipulates sound to bend perception--that masterfully blends scientific curiosity with magical-realist caprice. Alex Rose has published stories and essays for McSweeney s, the North American Review, The Providence Journal, the Forward, The ScienceCreative Quarterly, and DIAGRAM. He has also directed a number of short films that have appeared on HBO, MTV, Comedy Central, Showtime, and the BBC. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780978910310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Rose, Alex
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2007. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780978910310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Alex Rose
Published by Akashic Books,U.S., United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Akashic Books,U.S., United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Borges and Calvino, The Musical Illusionist is an interwoven collection of postmodern folk tales--disappearing manuscripts, neurological anomalies, teleporting bacteria, and an unforgettable composer who manipulates sound to bend perception--that masterfully blends scientific curiosity with magical-realist caprice. Alex Rose has published stories and essays for McSweeney s, the North American Review, The Providence Journal, the Forward, The ScienceCreative Quarterly, and DIAGRAM. He has also directed a number of short films that have appeared on HBO, MTV, Comedy Central, Showtime, and the BBC. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780978910310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Alex Rose
Published by Akashic Books,U.S., United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Akashic Books,U.S., United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In the tradition of Borges and Calvino, The Musical Illusionist is an interwoven collection of postmodern folk tales--disappearing manuscripts, neurological anomalies, teleporting bacteria, and an unforgettable composer who manipulates sound to bend perception--that masterfully blends scientific curiosity with magical-realist caprice. Alex Rose has published stories and essays for McSweeney s, the North American Review, The Providence Journal, the Forward, The ScienceCreative Quarterly, and DIAGRAM. He has also directed a number of short films that have appeared on HBO, MTV, Comedy Central, Showtime, and the BBC. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780978910310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Rose, Alex
Published by Hotel St. George Press
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hotel St. George Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0978910311. Bookseller Inventory # Z0978910311ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Rose, Alex
Published by Hotel St. George Press
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hotel St. George Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0978910311 Brand New! Not Overstocks or Low Quality Book Club Editions! Direct From the Publisher! We're not a giant, faceless warehouse organization! We're a small town bookstore that loves books and loves it's customers! Buy from us and you get great service as well as a great price! Your business is valued and your satisfaction is guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # OTF-9780978910310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Rose, Alex
Published by Hotel St. George Press
ISBN 10: 0978910311 ISBN 13: 9780978910310
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hotel St. George Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0978910311 Brand New! Not Overstocks or Low Quality Book Club Editions! Direct From the Publisher! We're not a giant, faceless warehouse organization! We're a small town bookstore that loves books and loves it's customers! Buy from us and you get great service as well as a great price! Your business is valued and your satisfaction is guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # OTF-S-9780978910310

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book