"The Proxy Assassin": "Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy"

4.12 avg rating
( 17 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780982090398: "The Proxy Assassin": "Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy"
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

October, 1948. Former OSS agent Hal Schroeder is back polishing his bar stool at The Harbor Inn in Cleveland when he gets a surprise invitation from Frank Wisner, who heads the CIA's new covert ops division. Hal is whisked off to Wisner's Maryland shore retreat and introduced to a brace of Romanian royals, including the scarily beautiful Princess Stela Varadja, a direct descendant of Vlad Tepes Draculea. Then Wisner pops the question. Would Hal consider parachuting into a remote mountain camp to meet with the leader of a group of Romanian anti-Communist guerrillas? Hal has already survived two previous suicide missions and a third does not appeal. 'But I told Frank Wisner I would need a few days to think it over. I had some D.C. sightseeing to do.' As it turns out Hal Schroeder gets to do a lot more sightseeing than he bargained for. A journey that brings the American Spy Trilogy to a surprising conclusion.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

John Knoerle was born in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1949 and migrated to California with his family in the 1960s. He has worked as a stand-up comic, a voiceover actor, and a radio reporter. He wrote the screenplay for Quiet Fire, which starred Karen Black and Lawrence Hilton Jacobs, and the stage play The He-Man Woman Hater’s Club, an LA Time’s Critics Choice. He also worked as a writer for Garrison Keillor’s A Prairie Home Companion. His first novel, Crystal Meth Cowboys, published in 2003, was optioned by Fox TV. His second novel, The Violin Player, won the Mayhaven Award for fiction. He is currently at work on the American Spy Trilogy. Book One, A Pure Double Cross, came out in 2008. Book Two, A Despicable Profession, was published in August of 2010.

Review:

"For readers of Olen Steinhauer’s TOURIST series, Daniel Silva & Alan Furst, add a terrific new author to your library of cerebral espionage thrillers. JOHN KNOERLE and 'The Proxy Assassin' go right to the top of the list."
—Stan Corwin, author of'Oxymorons I Have Known'.

"John Knoerle has mastered the art of less is more. In 'The Proxy Assassin' he strings compelling words into kinetic sentences that have the reader flipping pages late into the night."
—-Phil Brody, author of 'The Holden Age of Hollywood'.

“John Knoerle is such a smart writer. The humor, heart and intrigue in 'A Despicable Profession' is great.”
—Sarah Branham, Editor, Simon & Schuster.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

1.

Knoerle, John
Published by Blue Steel Press 7/12/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0982090390 ISBN 13: 9780982090398
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Blue Steel Press 7/12/2012, 2012. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Proxy Assassin: Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780982090398

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

John Knoerle
Published by Blue Steel Press, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0982090390 ISBN 13: 9780982090398
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Blue Steel Press, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. October, 1948. Former OSS agent Hal Schroeder is back polishing his bar stool at The Harbor Inn in Cleveland when he gets a surprise invitation from Frank Wisner, who heads the CIA's new covert ops division. Hal is whisked off to Wisner's Maryland shore retreat and introduced to a brace of Romanian royals, including the scarily beautiful Princess Stela Varadja, a direct descendant of Vlad Tepes Draculea. Then Wisner pops the question. Would Hal consider parachuting into a remote mountain camp to meet with the leader of a group of Romanian anti-Communist guerrillas? Hal has already survived two previous suicide missions and a third does not appeal. 'But I told Frank Wisner I would need a few days to think it over. I had some D.C. sightseeing to do.' As it turns out Hal Schroeder gets to do a lot more sightseeing than he bargained for. A journey that brings the American Spy Trilogy to a surprising conclusion. Seller Inventory # APC9780982090398

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

John Knoerle
Published by Blue Steel Press, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0982090390 ISBN 13: 9780982090398
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Blue Steel Press, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. October, 1948. Former OSS agent Hal Schroeder is back polishing his bar stool at The Harbor Inn in Cleveland when he gets a surprise invitation from Frank Wisner, who heads the CIA's new covert ops division. Hal is whisked off to Wisner's Maryland shore retreat and introduced to a brace of Romanian royals, including the scarily beautiful Princess Stela Varadja, a direct descendant of Vlad Tepes Draculea. Then Wisner pops the question. Would Hal consider parachuting into a remote mountain camp to meet with the leader of a group of Romanian anti-Communist guerrillas? Hal has already survived two previous suicide missions and a third does not appeal. 'But I told Frank Wisner I would need a few days to think it over. I had some D.C. sightseeing to do.' As it turns out Hal Schroeder gets to do a lot more sightseeing than he bargained for. A journey that brings the American Spy Trilogy to a surprising conclusion. Seller Inventory # APC9780982090398

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.37
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Knoerle, John
Published by BLUE STEEL PR (2012)
ISBN 10: 0982090390 ISBN 13: 9780982090398
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description BLUE STEEL PR, 2012. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780982090398

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Knoerle, John
Published by Blue Steel Press
ISBN 10: 0982090390 ISBN 13: 9780982090398
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)

Book Description Blue Steel Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0982090390 Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9780982090398

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

John Knoerle
Published by Blue Steel Press 2012-07-12 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0982090390 ISBN 13: 9780982090398
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Blue Steel Press 2012-07-12, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-ING-9780982090398

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 17.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Knoerle, John
Published by BLUE STEEL PR (2012)
ISBN 10: 0982090390 ISBN 13: 9780982090398
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description BLUE STEEL PR, 2012. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780982090398

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds