The Emerald Storm (The Riyria Revelations, Vol. 4)

4.3 avg rating
( 5,452 ratings by Goodreads )
9780982514535: The Emerald Storm (The Riyria Revelations, Vol. 4)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

Note: The Emerald Storm has been replaced by Rise of Empire a two-book Omnibus edition that contains both Nyphron Rising and the Emerald Storm.    
Ex-mercenary Hadrian Blackwater sets course on a high seas adventure to find the lost Heir of Novron. His only hope lies in confronting the ruthless and cunning Merrick Marius. Fearing his friend is not up to the challenge, Royce Melborn joins his old partner for one last mission. Their journey finds them adrift amid treachery and betrayals forcing Hadrian to face a past he hoped never to see again.
The Emerald Storm is the fourth book in the captivating Riyria Revelations. Instead of a string of sequels this six-book fantasy series was conceived as a single epic tale divided into individual episodes. All were written before the first was released so that plot elements are intertwined, yet each book has its only story and conclusion.

The Crown Conspiracy (October 2008)
Avempartha (April 2009)
Nyphron Rising (October 2009)
The Emerald Storm (April 2010)
Wintertide (October 2010)
Percepliquis (January 2012)

OMNIBUS EDITIONS (Orbit Publishing)
Theft of Swords (November 2011)
Rise of Empire (December 2011)
Heir of Novron (January 2012)
"The Riyria Revelations is shaping up to be one of the most original and entertaining fantasy series I ve seen in years." -- King of the Nerds Fantasy Reviews

"Mr. Sullivan continues to impress. In Royce and Hadrian he has created some of the best characters the genre has seen in some time." --Speculative Fiction Junkie

"A whirlwind of twists, earth-shattering surprises and deadly betrayal." -- Literary Magic
"Michael J. Sullivan doesn't waste time and throws the reader into action from the first pages of his novel and keeps him there until the final page is turned." --Dark Wolf Fantasy Review

"The Crown Conspiracy is right up my alley, traditional fantasy, good bad guys, a large dose of humor, lots of character development and plenty of surprises. -- Fantasy Debut

The story begins with a wonderful first line...It continues to develop at a good pace, and the plot is layered and intriguing, really engaging...Sullivan's real talents lie in character development and dialogue, the latter of which was really delightful. Royce and Hadrian have a great repartee, and the monk, Myron, has some memorable lines of his own." --

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

In October 2010 I sold my Riyria Revelations series of books to Orbit (fantasy imprint of big-six Hachette Book Group). As such, the original versions are now officially "out of print" and available only by third-party vendors who are selling what are now essentially "collector editions".  Orbit took the six-book series and re-released them as three, two-book omnibus versions (published from Nov 2011 to Jan 2012).  The fact that the series is published in two different formats is often confusing, so here's how the books break down.

Original self-published editions (now out of print)

  • The Crown Conspiracy (originally published by AMI, and later by Ridan)
  • Avempartha
  • Nyphron Rising
  • The Emerald Storm
  • Wintertide
  • Percepliquis*
The new incarnation of the series from Orbit 
  • Theft of Swords contains The Crown Conspiracy and Avempartha
  • Rise of Empire contains Nyphron Rising and The Emerald Storm
  • Heir of Novron contains Wintertide & Percepliquis
Due to overwhelming demand for more Royce and Hadrian stories, a new series, The Riyria Chronicles, has been created that tells the duo's early adventures including their first assignment and the forming of Riyria. This new series will also be released by Orbit following their "a book per month" schedule.

The Riyria Chronicles
  • The Crown Tower - August 1, 2013
  • The Rose and the Thorn - September 5, 2013
For those interested in other projects, I have a number of things underway.
  • Antithesis: an urban fantasy (which I will self-publish in 2013)
  • Hollow World: a time travel science fiction story (to be completed in 2012)
  • A new (untitled) fantasy series: (to be completed in mid 2015)
  • A Burden to the Earth: a literary fiction piece (completed but needs editing)

In addition he will have short stories in the following anthologies:
  • Traditions in Triumph Over Tragedy
  • The Jester in Unfettered
  • Autumn Mists in The Fantasy Faction Anthology
  • Burning Alexandria in The End Anthology
* Percepliquis is technically the only book of the original series that is not "out of print." For those who originally read Wintertide this edition allows for the stand-alone version so that they can complete their series. The content is identical to the Percepliquis which is found as the second book in the Heir of Novron release.

About the Author:

Michael J. Sullivan has been successfully published in all three publication paths: small press, self-published, and traditional (big-six).  His debut series, The Riyria Revelations has sold 70,000 copies when self-published and another 140,000 English copies from Nov 2011 - Jan 2012. The series has also been translated to thirteen foreign languages including: Germany, Dutch, French, and Japan.

Michael's work has been well received by critics and readers alike, earning him hundreds of positive reviews, and more than 25 "best of" or "most anticipated" list mentions. He has attributed much of his success to the fantasy book blogging community. Dubbed "the little indie that could" he found his books pitted as the only independent in major competitions such as the 2010 goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Fantasy and the 2009 Book Spot Central's Fantasy Tournament of Books, which he won. As a traditionally published author he was named to both Library Journal and Barnes and Noble's Blog Best Fantasy of 2011 lists.

Michael has several projects under development: 

  • Antithesis:  an urban fantasy 
  • Hollow World: a time travel science fiction story 
  • The First Empire Series: (to be completed in mid 2014)
  • The Crown Tower: book #1 of The Riyria Chronicles (released by Orbit Aug 6, 2013)
  • The Rose and the Thorn:  book #2 of The Riyria Chronicles (released by Orbit Sep 17, 2013). 
In addition he will have short stories in the following anthologies:
  • Burning Alexandria in The End Anthology (released)
  • Traditions in Triumph Over Tragedy (released)
  • Autumn Mists in The Fantasy Faction Anthology (March 2013)
  • The Jester in Unfettered (May 2013)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 14.95
US$ 178.53

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


SUllivan, Michael J.
Published by Ridan Publishing (2010)
ISBN 10: 0982514530 ISBN 13: 9780982514535
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ridan Publishing, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110982514530

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 178.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds